“God’s Light Clears Our Vision…”

Yesterday, my sister-in-law, Lisa and I had a “scare.” Our kids were through with their lessons for the day, and we were sitting talking. While the kids were playing in Sarah’s room, I suddenly noticed my loyal dog, Gracie, barking outside. I immediately ran to the back door because I knew Gracie hardly ever barks unless she senses potential danger–usually in the form of a snake!! When I peered through the glass of the back door, I saw Gracie standing on the ground in front of the deck, looking underneath, and barking. Then I heard the rustling of the leaves under the deck, that resulted in the first shiver up my spine! Lisa came out, and immediately spotted the culprit–and yes, it was a snake!! I was so full of sheer terror and fear, that now when I look back on the event, I know that I was not thinking clearly. All the things I had learned about snakes from field trips, Animal Planet, etc. “went right out the window!”

I was so concerned that it was a poisonous snake, it was if I couldn’t see the animal for what it really was! I saw a snake trying to lunge at us and bite us, when it was really just trying to get away. I even tried to remember to look for characteristics of a poisonous snake, such as a triangular head and slit pupils. However, through “the eyes of fear,” its head suddenly looked more triangular and it’s pupils weren’t “exactly” round! Even though later, I was a little embarrassed to discover that what I thought to be a moccasin or a copperhead was just a brown garter snake!

You see, often, fear distorts the truth, if we’re not careful. Fear can make an obstacle seem larger, a mountain higher; a situation impossible. But the Bible says, “…With God all things are possible.”–Matthew 19:26. When we are gripped by fear, we’re “groping in the darkness,” unable to see the situation clearly. However, when we turn to Jesus, the “all-knowing one,” He sheds His light of truth on things and dispels the fear…

Even when we really are in potential danger, or in a situation that is impossible to men, again, look to God. Mark 9:23 says, “All things are possible to him who believes.” Similarly, Philippians 4:13 says, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” Of course, we are not able to deal with certain things on our own, and Jesus is waiting for us to come to Him. The obstacles that seem so beyond us are nothing for God!

But you know, also God did not give us the spirit of fear. II Timothy 1:7 says, “For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, of love, and of a sound mind.” When you give into fear instead of turning to God, think about “whose side” you are choosing. If God doesn’t give us that “spirit of fear,” who does? Who nurtures the fear, builds it up, and whispers more distortions and lies in our ears? Who plays on our fears and tries to discourage, immobilize, and entrap us to keep us from carrying out God’s will? The more important question for us all, is who will you listen to today?

____________________________

Remember, there is nothing you cannot handle with the Lord by your side. Let Him guide you into all truth, clear your vision, and dispel your fears…

Leave a Reply

