“Our Feelings Fail, But His Love Faileth Not…”

O.K., I realize now that my last post wasn’t so encouraging, uplifting, or even that funny… It seems more sarcastic and maybe a little resentful, I think. Anyway, I guess I was just “blowing off some steam…” You know, the truth is, this business of motherhood doesn’t always produce “warm, fuzzy” feelings. Of course, I know this information does not come as a shock to those of you who are also parents!

What we all must keep in mind though, is that we cannot “put too much stock” in our feelings! Feelings are fleeting, fickle, unreliable, and can be just downright contrary to God’s will for our lives. We are not called to rely on feelings (of the flesh), but on our Lord Jesus Christ and “every Word that proceedeth out of the mouth of God.” –Matt. 4:4

I may not always “feel” like being loving, kind, patient, etc. with my children, but I know I’ve got to strive to be with the help of the Holy Spirit. I also may not always “feel” like giving them the discipline, training, and guidance they so badly need, but if I don’t, I’m not obeying my Heavenly Father! I know I cannot be a “slave to my feelings,” because then I am no longer under His Lordship and direction! …And oh my, what a bad place to be!! I’m sure each of us can think of different situations in our lives where we have let “feelings” lead us, instead of turning to God first.

I sure am glad that God isn’t as fickle and inconsistent as us human beings, though! Psalm 18:2 says, “The Lord is my rock…,” and Malachi 3:6 says, “For I am the Lord, I change not…” I am very thankful that though our feelings, thoughts, words, and deeds may fail us, “LOVE NEVER FAILETH…”–1Corinthians 13:8. I also draw much comfort and strength in reading 2Corinthians 12:9, which says, “…My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness.”

Leave a comment