I Know Who Holds Tomorrow

I’ve posted a portion of this song in the past, but today I wanted to share it in its entirety. You know, I used to sing for years without always truly listening to the wonderful words of many of these great old songs. I hope these words will touch your heart, and bring you comfort and peace as you read…

_____________________________________________________________________

I Know Who Holds Tomorrow

(Words by Ira Stanphill, 1950)

I don’t know about tomorrow;
I just live from day to day.
I don’t borrow from its sunshine
For its skies may turn to grey.
I don’t worry o’er the future,
For I know what Jesus said.
And today I’ll walk beside Him,
For He knows what is ahead.

Many things about tomorrow
I don’t seem to understand
But I know who holds tomorrow
And I know who holds my hand.

Every step is getting brighter
As the golden stairs I climb;
Every burden’s getting lighter,
Every cloud is silver-lined.
There the sun is always shining,
There no tear will dim the eye;
At the ending of the rainbow
Where the mountains touch the sky.

Many things about tomorrow
I don’t seem to understand
But I know who holds tomorrow
And I know who holds my hand.

I don’t know about tomorrow;
It may bring me poverty.
But the one who feeds the sparrow,
Is the one who stands by me.
And the path that is my portion
May be through the flame or flood;
But His presence goes before me
And I’m covered with His blood.

Many things about tomorrow
I don’t seem to understand
But I know who holds tomorrow
And I know who holds my hand.

_____________________________________________________________________

“…he leads me beside quiet waters, 3 he restores my soul. He guides me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. 4 Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.” Psalm 23:2-4

_____________________________________________________________________

15 Responses

  1. Keep blogging my sister in Christ. God bless you. By the way, thanks for this lyrics. ^_^

  2. Sister in Christ,

    I have looked and looked for any Bio info on Ira Foster Stanphill who authored this song and many more (Mansion over the Hilltops; Jesus and Me; Room at the Cross for You and more) but I can’t find anything. I do know that as of the 1960’s he was still writting songs.

    I use the information on Bio; the reason the person wrote this song; and what scripture that the person was using to supplement my own praise and worship (and of course pass it on where there are questions).

    It’s like the song Tis so sweet to trust in Jesus is wonderful, but when you know that the song was written AFTER the author’s husband had swum out to save someone drowning and her husband drowned also leaving her and her little girl, those words take on a content of their own. We look at what we are going through and look at her and her words and find that we also can say, tis so sweet to trust in Jesus just to take Him at His word. Just to rest upon His promise, just to know, thus sayth the Lord. Jesus, Jesus, how I trust Him how I’ve proved Him ove’ and ove’. Jesus, Jesus, precious Jesus, oh for grace to trust Him more.

    I think you get the picture of how much more a song can mean with the background of the person who wrote it or why they wrote it. Is there anyway that someone can find out information about Ira Foster Stanphill who wrote this wonderful peice?

    Send it to emberjoy@gmail is you wish.

    Thank you sister for any help you can provide

  3. There’s a little biographical information about him–Ira Forest Stanphill– over at Cyberhymnal. You can view it at: http://www.cyberhymnal.org/bio/s/t/a/stanphill_if.htm

    The information provided at Cyberhymnal also mentions his autobiography, “This Side of Heaven,” published in 1983.

  4. I had the privilege of knowing Ira personally. The song, “I know who holds tomorrow” and We’ll talk it over” were written during a very difficult time in Ira’s life.
    His wife was also an excellent singer. However, she felt the ministry was not for her and decided to enter the world of entertainment and left Ira to follow her dreams. She was killed in an auto accident.
    The two songs reflect some of the deep hurt and questioning that Ira was feeling.
    Ira was a great person. It seems, by god’s grace, that those who travel through deep waters come forth with a great spirit and trust in God.

    That’s so awesome that you knew Ira personally. Thanks so much for your comment and God Bless!

  5. This is exactly the info I was looking for confirmation on! I have recalled for many years, hearing Ira speak at the Full Gospel Tabernacle in Orchard park, NY. He shared that his wife had left him and gone into the world, and that although wishing to remarry, he could not, if he was going to be obedient to God. As I recall, he brought it to the Lord one more time, and shortly thereafter, his wife was killed, thus making way for him to remarry. He was quick to add that he was not at all saying that God will kill your wandering spouse for you, so that you can remarry! But what has stayed with me all these years, was his faithfulness – that come what may, he was determined to be obedient, even if it mean being lonely. We don’t find that very much anymore, to the shame of those who call themselves Christians.

  6. Thanks so very much to you–Weldon and to you–Marlene for adding to my info. about Mr. Ira Stanphill! This is great! I have found so many times that writers of really great Gospel songs have been through great tragedy, trials, suffering, and pain. It also seems true to me that those who keep the faith and stay obedient through “deep waters come forth with a great spirit and trust in God.”

    Thanks so much for your comments and blessings to you both!

    Love N Him,
    Janet

  7. I also new Ira Stanphill personally. Think that it was just after his wife was
    killed, that he became assoc pastor at Bethel Temple in Ft Worth.
    (Pastor, Charles Jones was brother in law to Rex Humbard.)
    While in Ft Worth, he married Gloria Hollingsworth, a preacher’s daughter.
    After about a year they went somewhere else for a few years.
    Then he returned to Ft Worth to pastor Rosen Heights AG, which was later
    moved to a new church building and renamed, Rockwood Park Assembly of
    God.
    He was there for a number of years: performed the ceremony of my daughter’s
    wedding.
    He had a brain tumor and had surgery for it. IT somewhat changed his
    personality, but not to a noticeable degree.
    When he retired, he became a regular on the Gaither programs and recordings.
    At some point in his later life he signed an agreement with Singspiration
    regarding his music rights.
    He and Gloria had two daughters. Ira had one son, Butch, by his first wife.
    Hope this helps.

    Wow, awesome, Ann! Thanks so much for your input! Blessings, Janet

  8. I too have been blessed by this song. Have been singing it driving, bathing, cooking and everywhere. I even shared it with my nieces and nephews that they need to cling on to Jesus even when feeling the lowest. This song is so amazing and it hits you right at the heart. It helps you cope with trials. I am also going through a difficult period in my life and this song has taught me to cling on to JESUS as only He knows what my tomorrow is going to be and that he holds my hand walking me through so many tomorrows. I am learning not to worry about tomorrow or my future and this song has helped me do so. Thank you so much to the author as his sharing is blessing me and many more. I attend BSF class and that is where I learnt it and many of my friends too are blessed by the beautiful words that helps one walk in faith. May God bless the author and his family forever more.

    Hi Kala,

    Thanks so much for your comment and input! I’m so glad that you have been blessed by this song. The first time I heard it many, many years ago, it was immediately a special song to me. I think I was just a kid and heard my dad sing it with a good buddy of his at church. As I get older, the song holds more and more meaning for me. This song gives me much comfort and peace…reminding me that no matter what may lie ahead, that God is always there and in control.

    Blessings,
    Janet

  9. The Lord brought this wonderful song of faith and Trust to mind during my time of quiet this morning when I read the scriptures: James 4:14, Heb. 3:13 and Ps. 90:12. In searching for more about Ira and the song, I found your website and have been SO Blessed.

    Thanks to each of you who shared and thank you, Janet , for your site! I am so grateful I found you. Carpe Diem!
    anna

    Hi Anna,
    Isn’t it awesome how our Lord works in our lives like that?! Many times He has brought a particular song and/or certain scriptures to my mind during quiet times. Also, several times, He has led me to certain sites and posts that spoke to my heart and the “issue(s) at hand” (ministering to my heart in a special way and going right along with what I was dealing with at the time or what the Lord had already impressed upon me). I just LOVE when He does that!
    Thanks so much for your comment. Blessings to you!
    In Him, Janet

  10. Let me say that I contioue to be very move by this song here in Nassau, Bahamas. I could hear this song all day because it brings me so much comfort and peace knowing that what ever Jesus will be there for me. Such Good Words written by this man Stamphill.

    PS. I heard that he wrote this song doing a difficult time in his life when his wife whom he love and care so much about pick uop and left him. I learnt that she die in a traffic accident shortly thereafter.

    Hi Bert,

    Thanks so much for your comment and input! I have gotten more comments on this song than just about any other. It seems to be a blessing to many–as we draw comfort from knowing that Jesus is with us and that He holds our tomorrows.

    Blessings to you,
    Janet

  11. I was doing some research on Ira Stanphill this morning, because I am going to sing one of his songs in church today: Mansion Over the Hilltop. I would be interested in corresponding with anyone who knew him personally. I am intrigued by his life and testimony.
    Ruth
    http://www.myspace.com/ruthkiser

  12. Hi Ruth,

    I LOVE that song…Mansion Over The Hilltop.

    Yes, there are a couple of people listed here in the comments who knew Mr. Ira Stanphill personally. Hope you can connect with someone who can help you. You can also find out some things just by reading through the comments.

    Blessings,
    Janet

  13. Ira Stanphill is my great uncle I think? or my great great uncle? Are there any living family? our side has all passed? My great grand father was bill (willam) stanphill.

    Donna

  14. […] Well, I’m home alone, and I’m off to grab my guitar. There’s a song I feel the need to sing. It’s called “I Know Who Holds Tomorrow.“ […]

  15. That’s a great song. I googled some of the words to it and found your site. Thanks for posting it. I really needed it today.

Leave a Reply

