When God Dips His Pen Of Love…

I kept thinking about the following song today, and it took me a while to locate the original writer, recording, etc. While I was researching, I stumbled upon a website posting of a story accompanying the song. The story is entitled Heart Surgery, and you may view it here.

_____________________________________________________________________

WHEN GOD DIPS HIS LOVE IN MY HEART

(W.S. Stevenson – Cleavant Derricks, 1949)

When God dips his pen of love in my heart
And writes my soul a message he wants me to know
His spirit all divine fills this sinful soul of mine
When God dips his love in my heart

Well I said I wouldn’t tell it to a living soul
How he brought salvation when he made me whole
But I found I couldn’t hide such love as Jesus did impart
Well it makes me laugh it makes me cry sets my sinful soul on fire
When God dips his love in my heart

Sometimes though the way is dreary dark and cold
And some unburdened sorrow keeps me from the goal
I go to God in prayer I can always find him there
To whisper sweet peace to my soul

He walked every step up Calvary’s rugged way
To give his life completely and bring a better day
My life was steeped with sin but in love he took me in
His blood washed away every stain

Well I said I wouldn’t tell it to a living soul
How he brought salvation when he made me whole
But I found I couldn’t hide such love as Jesus did impart
Well it makes me laugh it makes me cry sets my sinful soul on fire
When God dips his love in my heart

______________________________________________________________________

“Herein is love, not that we loved God, but that he loved us, and sent his Son to be the propitiation for our sins. 11 Beloved, if God so loved us, we ought also to love one another. 12 No man hath seen God at any time. If we love one another, God dwelleth in us, and his love is perfected in us. 13 Hereby know we that we dwell in him, and he in us, because he hath given us of his Spirit. 14 And we have seen and do testify that the Father sent the Son to be the Saviour of the world. 15 Whosoever shall confess that Jesus is the Son of God, God dwelleth in him, and he in God. 16 And we have known and believed the love that God hath to us. God is love; and he that dwelleth in love dwelleth in God, and God in him.” –1John 4:10-16

_____________________________________________________________________

**Note–You can also view other lyrics, Christian poetry, and you can download music at Ken’s website, The Resting Place. (His site is where I found the Heart Surgery story).

_____________________________________________________________________

Leave a Reply

