To Everything There Is A Season…

Well, ya know, it’s about that time again! We’re officially starting back to school this coming Tuesday, August 28th. Yep, I think we’re all ready. Not that I am completely and totally prepared, but I think each of us is ready for our little school to start back. In fact, just this morning, both the kids were already pulling out school-work to do! O.k., granted, Kerry’s ultimate goal really just included “going to the Treasure Box,” but still…

We have done a little studying throughout the summer, but certainly not as much as I had anticipated! Well, I reckon the kids do need a break some time, don’t they? …And summers are perfect for that.

Actually, though, I’ve been pleasantly surprised with the reading and writing that Sarah has done on her own, with no direction from me. We’ve been to the library quite frequently, and the kids have come home with tons of books each time. Sarah has read to me, Kerry, herself, and even to the dog! She’s also started writing “books!” Sarah’s decided that she wants to write her own “books” to one day be included in the library’s collection! One of these days I’m going to post one of them, for y’all to see. (Sarah’s also decided she wants her own website too–she’s just a “wee-bit” ambitious for a 6 year-old, huh?)

Well, I guess it’s time for this post to come to an end. I’ve got to get back to work on my classroom and lesson plans!! But hey, before I go, I just want to share this post I found over at Julie’s blog (you can click here). Julie is starting her first year of homeschooling, and I really identify with her reasons for homeschooling…

_________________________

Prayer Request

P.S. Please pray for all the children everywhere as they start back to school. …Whether it be public school, private school, their family kitchen–whatever the case may be. Also, for all of us, who live in this country, let’s remember to give thanks for the many educational opportunities and options we have. Let’s also please pray for children in other places of the world, who don’t have a chance for even an education. Perhaps we may also want to consider how we can help in some way; as the Lord leads…

4 Responses

  1. Hi Janet,

    May God bless you as you prepare for another year of school. I’ll pray for you, and you pray for me. Deal?

    Carol

  2. Hi There!

    Thanks for the link and for the prayer….the Lord knows that I can use that about now! I’ve been stressing this week, trying to get all the preparation done, and at times it seems like I’m already failing miserably!! But…I know it will get better 😉 We are going to have a “Treasure Box” too! It came with the program we are using. Any chance that you are doing Sing, Spell, Read and Write?

    Hope you have a wonderful, fun-filled and productive school year!

    God Bless,

    Julie

  3. Hi Carol,

    Thanks so much! Sure thing–it’s a deal. I’ll pray for you also.

    In Him,
    Janet

  4. Hey Julie,

    Yeah, I can identify there too. I’ve been stressing a little this week myself! It does get easier though, like you said. I’m stressing a lot less than last year!

    We’ve mostly been using Abeka, but we are starting to branch out to some other curriculum too. If you find something you really like, let me know!

    May God bless your school year also!

    In Him,
    Janet

Leave a Reply

