Precious Lord Take My Hand

The following song has come to my mind so, so many times over the past two months. At first I tried to ignore it and push it out of my mind, but it just keeps coming back. You see, I guess songs help me face my feelings and deal with them, and sometimes I may try to avoid this. Oh, but to no avail really, the songs always find me… I suppose that’s good though, because you can’t get past what you don’t face, huh?

This past Sunday, during Sunday School, we were discussing pain, trials, grief, etc. A member of the class mentioned the following song and shared a little about the writer–Tom Dorsey–and his life. Mr. Dorsey received this song from God during a terrible time of grief and loss. (Many of the really great gospel songs originated this way–a writer expressing, facing, and dealing with the pain of grief and loss).

To learn more about the story behind the song, you may visit here.

______________________________________________________________________

jesus_light_of_the_world

Precious Lord Take My Hand

By: Thomas A. Dorsey, 1932

Precious Lord, take my hand
Lead me on, let me stand
I am tired, I am weak, I am worn
Through the storm, through the night
Lead me on to the light
Take my hand precious Lord, lead me home.

When my way grows drear
Precious Lord linger near
When my light is almost gone
Hear my cry, hear my call
Hold my hand lest I fall
Take my hand precious Lord, lead me home.

When the darkness appears
And the night draws near
And the day is past and gone
At the river I stand
Guide my feet, hold my hand
Take my hand precious Lord, lead me home.

Precious Lord, take my hand
Lead me on, let me stand
I am tired, I am weak, I am worn
Through the storm, through the night
Lead me on to the light
Take my hand precious Lord, lead me home.

_____________________________________________________________________

**To listen to this song, as performed by Gospel singer, Mahalia Jackson, you may click here. (There are also different videos of several artists performing this song).

**Above picture is courtesy of Flickr.

____________________________________________

**Update: (Tues., July 22nd, 2008) I’ve corrected the above lyrics per comment below (one line of the chorus was incorrect). I found the correct lyrics and a little more info. about the author here.

4 Responses

  1. Words are “I am tired, I am week, I am WORN” not I’m lone.

  2. Whoop, meant I am tired, I am weak, I am worn”

  3. Oops! Thanks, Stuart, you’re right. I looked up the words again on another site. I’ll be correcting that.

    Blessings, Janet

  4. 1. Pray that God will provide me with a good paying job at African Bible College.

    2. Pray that God will provide me with college fees for my children to study in UK.

    3. Pray that God will provide me with resources to build a family house.

    4. Pray that God will provide me with a God fearing husband from UK.

    5. Pray that Khumbo Nyemba will be a God fearing girl.

    To Lackelo: I have been praying for you and your children. May God guide and direct your steps; bringing you closer to Him and providing for you daily is my prayer. Blessings to you! Love in Christ, Janet

Leave a Reply

