How Far Is The East From The West?

A fellow Christian shared a TOTALLY AWESOME song with me the other day. I may have heard it “in passing” once or twice, but I had never before just sat and listened to the lyrics. I can so identify with the words, and they really touched my heart. Check out the lyrics to this song:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

East to West

By: Casting Crowns

Here I am Lord and I’m drowning
In your sea of forgetfulness
The chains of yesterday surround me
I yearn for peace and rest
I don’t want to end up where you found me
And it echoes in my mind
Keeps me awake tonight

I know you’ve cast my sins as far
As the East is from the West
And I stand before you now
As though I’ve never sinned but today
I feel like I’m just one mistake away
From you leaving me this way

Jesus can you show me
Just how far the East is from the West
Cause I can’t bear to see the man I’ve been
Come rising up in me again
In the arms of your mercy I find rest
Cause you know just how far the East is from the West
From one scarred hand to the other

I start the day the war begins
And less reminding of my sin
Time and time again
Your truth Is drowned out by the storm I’m in
Today I feel like I’m just one mistake away
From you leaving me this way

Jesus can you show me
Just how far the East is from the West
Cause I can’t bear to see the man I’ve been
Come rising up in me again
In the arms of your mercy I find rest
Cause you know just how far the East is from the West
From one scarred hand to the other

I know you’ve washed me white
Turned my darkness into light
I need your peace to get me through
To get me through this night
I can’t live by what I feel
But by the truth your word reveals
I’m not holding on to you
But you’re holding on to me
You’re holding on to me

Jesus, you know just how far
The East is from the West
I don’t have to see the man I’ve been
Come rising up in me again
In the arms of your mercy I find rest
(The arms of your mercy I find rest)
Cause you know just how far the East is from the West
From one scarred hand to the other (x2)

(Just how far, the East is from the West) (x3)

From one scarred hand to the other…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

**Note: You may listen to this song and snippets of others by visiting the Casting Crowns website here.

14 Responses

  1. Thanks for sharing, awesome song

  2. Hey, nice points. Yes, I love Psalm 103. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Hey Erica, thanks for stopping by. I agree with your comments about Casting Crowns–“incredible lyrics, indeed!”

    God bless you too!

  4. Hi! Logging into WordPress to check my own blog, I saw yours featured “Under Religion.” It said that your latest post was “How Far is the East from the West,” and because I love that song I clicked and found your blog! I have only read this post, but I’m anticipating reading some of your other posts.

    Casting Crowns writes some incredible lyrics. I am not a big Contemporary Christian Music fan, but I really like most of their songs, including “East to West.” It’s really an encouraging song–full of hope!

    God bless you!

  5. It is another hit for C&C. Last week, this song was the number one song on the Christian Top 40 for the fourth straight week. Top 40 show can be heard on K-LOVE radio station in your area or http://www.klove.com/.

    Thanks for sharing.

  6. A wonderful perspective on uniting the beauty of Psalm 103 with the grandeur of the cross. My wife as she was recently teaching on this psalm realized that incredibly North and South do meet yet if you travel East, you will never be going West. Just another amazing bit of encouragement from the Word.

  7. To Schulkekj:

    Thanks for sharing about the K-LOVE address. Of course, I went straight to check it out yesterday, and the URL is now in my bookmarks.

  8. NP! It’s a great Christian station with no commercials. It is totally listener supported. It is only station I can listen to in the Indianapolis area unless you have a computer! 🙂

    In fact, this song is still number #1 this week for the fifth straight week. I should correct that K-LOVE hosts the Christan Top 20, not Top 40.

  9. dose anyone know where the vers this song is based off of is in the bible?

  10. To “agg15” (last person to comment):

    Psalms 103:12 says, “As far as the east is from the west, so far hath he removed our transgressions from us.”

    Blessings,
    Janet

  11. Hi Sara,

    I think at least a tear or two came to my eyes too the first time I heard it. I just felt like I had to share the song with others!

    Blessings,
    Janet

  12. I just listened to this song for the first time and I cried. Its a beautiful song.

  13. […] a fellow WordPress blogger had the words post at their blog here in October 2007.  The post has been updated to go the group’s website to hear a sample of […]

  14. For the first time, I, too, listened to the words without interruption. I was feeling like this at the time it was playing on the radio, and it became my prayer that day. I only wish these kind of songs would be played on some of the secular stations because there are so many hurting souls out there that this would greatly touch if they would merely listen to the words. I am so ever blessed to know my transgressions have been removed because of His saving grace.

    Blessings to all.

    Cheryl

    Hi Cheryl. Amen–what a blessing to have the assurance of His saving grace!

Leave a Reply

