Kids–“Ya Gotta Love ‘Em!”

As many of you know, I’ve been sharing kid’s stories for the better part of a year now. My kids certainly have brought a lot of humor and joy to my life, and I love remembering these times and sharing them with others.

Well, the other day, I came across the following kid’s stories. I had shared these (via email) with a few of you several months ago, but most of you haven’t seen them. Hope you enjoy!

Originally posted via email on Friday, February 09, 2007

Just thought I’d start sharing cute and sorta funny stories about my
“youngin’s”……..

One day a few weeks ago while I was in the kitchen, little Kerry had
climbed up on the piano and gotten down the glass from a hurricane
lamp. He went running through the living room, tripped over the dog,
dropped the glass and broke it; cutting his hands. We thought he had
learned his lesson when he said he would never do that again. Until the
other day when he informed us of what he had really learned. Kerry
says, “You should never run and jump with glass in your hands; you
should always walk!…”

One evening, while Scott and I thought our kids were both just coloring
quietly at the kitchen table, Sarah comes running up to us saying,
Mommy, Daddy come quick!
We step in the kitchen and find little Kerry covered in half a bottle of
glue, along with glue all over the table and kitchen floor. Sarah says,
“I was sorry to bother you Mommy, but I was so scared my little
brother was going to be glued to the table!”

About a year or so ago, my daughter reminded me how important it is to
not let ourselves get distracted when we’re driving. I was driving
Sarah to preschool in the morning, and I was preoccupied with something
and didn’t notice right away when the light turned “green.” Sarah saw
it and told me to “go.” As I drove up the next road, Sarah wags her
little finger at me and says, “Mommy, you need to pay tention when
you’re drivin’ ! If you run off in this grass over here, I’m gonna be
real mad at you!”

There’s plenty more of these little stories, and I know I’m going to
have to start writing them down before I forget them all! My kids have
me laughing and crying just about on a daily basis at times! The best
part is how they teach me things, remind me of what’s important, and
make me think about what example I’m really setting! It’s amazing how
the Holy Spirit speaks through each of them! “Out of the mouth of
babes,”…..right?

Have a great day and may God bless you!
Love always,
Janet

4 Responses

  1. Carol,

    Yes, it is a “verbal scrapbook.” …And I want it to be filled with the joy, the laughter, the sweetness, and all the good things. That’s what I want to focus on, and that’s what I want to remember foremost…

    Hope you have a blessed weekend too!

    Janet

  2. Janet, I agree w/ you that our children have taught us more about life. isn’t that amazing?

    One other thing I’ve learned through parenting: unconditional love. there were days when my mercy came short. At that point, I was always being reminded to the deep of God’s love for me and for everyone else.

    His well of love wouldn’t ever run dry – UNLIKE MINE.

    Oh, I need to tell you that I have THREE Awards awaiting for you. Yes, THREE.

    Blessings for you and your family.
    GOD BLESS.
    ~ Annita

  3. Annita, you’ve been such an encouragement to me.

    Thanks!

  4. Janet,

    Great stories. I’m constantly amazed at the things God teaches me through my kids too, even when they are older. It’s good that you’re taking time to write these things down too. I guess it’s kind of like making a “verbal scrapbook.” Hope you have a blessed weekend.

    Carol

Leave a Reply

