“The Needle in the Haystack…”

…or was it “the straw that broke the camel’s back?” Read on, and you’ll see what I mean.

I did something silly and absent-minded the other day, that could have been a “real headache” for me…

I went to get the lawn mower out of the shed, when I was distracted by something. I looked up and noticed that a small tree had fallen over onto our fence, so I went over to remove the tree. I picked it up a little , which proved to be more difficult than imagined, since a couple of small branches were hung on the fence. However, I managed to free the tree and flung it over the fence…

I immediately noticed that the tree was not all that I had flung over the fence! You remember how I went outside to do something else–to remove the lawn mower from the barn? Well, you see, the barn door key had been in my hand when I threw the tree over the fence, so I suppose you can guess what else went right along!

So, now a very small, tarnished, brown key was among piles and piles of old and decaying brown leaves. How was I ever going to find this key–this one and only key to our storage building? I needed to get into the barn, to get the mower (which needed repair), and to mow the yard. Anyway, you know it was just one of those really exasperating and frustrating situations that’s not “life or death,” but sure can “try your patience if you let it.”

Well, to be honest, there have been a lot of bigger issues at hand that have been weighing on me lately (I’ll spare you all the details). On top of these “bigger issues,” this week, a lot of little aggravations and irritations have come up in which I have wanted to say, “That’s it!” I know it sounds silly, but it’s like “the straw that broke the camel’s back” kind of thing.

However, I’m convicted by the Holy Spirit even as I try to continue typing! Is there a point as a Christian that I get to say, “That’s it”? If I’m in this for the long haul, I can’t even entertain that thought for a second! It’s like with my marriage–I didn’t go into it, already considering alternate options if “things don’t work out!”

I remember reading Julie’s blog a week or so back, and she made the point that sometimes we do need to just “give it up!” Of course, Julie was not referring to giving up on life, God, our faith, etc. Instead we need to learn how to truly give up on using our own strength and doing things our way. We all know that “our way” only leads to more frustration, heartache, etc. (You may read Julie’s post here).

You see, I make these plans for all these productive things that I am going to accomplish, but obviously things don’t always go the way I plan. When things go wrong, if I manage to quiet “my own voice,” and follow God’s lead, I have peace. However, of course, if I don’t let go of my own pride and stubbornness, I get mad and frustrated and only make matters worse!

You know, it’s funny how God can use anything, I mean anything to teach us something. Even something that seems so insignificant and small. We also extremely pale in comparison to His might and glory, yet He uses even us when we allow…

By the way, I did find that key, when I allowed Him to lead. You see, God can easily find “a needle in a haystack,” just as He can hear the voice of one sheep who has gone astray. God loves us, and He will help us even in the smallest details of our life if we let Him. He doesn’t promise us everything we want, just as He doesn’t promise us that we will get our way. However, He does promise to never leave us and to give us “peace that passes all understanding.”

Yep, I did find that key the other day, and I also found the peace I’d so quickly misplaced!

___________________________________________________________________

“And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.” –Philippians 4:7

4 Responses

  1. Hi Janet!

    Thanks for the link. I have to say, though, that your post was published at the exact moment I needed to be reminded to “Give it up” once again. Thanks. I guess it’s a continual battle we Christians face. I’m just thankful God continues to mercifully give us another chance to trust Him.

    Glad you found the key!

    Have a great week,

    Julie

  2. Hey Julie!

    Yep, I’m glad I found the “key” also, and I want to hang on to it each and every day! You’re right about the continuous battle, yet the more we practice surrendering to Him, the more victorious we will be!

    Yeah, I have a feeling I’ll be working on this for a lifetime, but that’s o.k. by me, because He is more than able!

    God bless,
    Janet

  3. Life situations seems to divert us from Him to .. our own strengths instead.

    It’s a beautiful journey when we finally say “God, we leave it on your feet” Frankly, the yoke seems to be lighter than ever.

    God bless,
    Annita

  4. Yes–Amen, Annita! Jesus says, in Matthew 11:30, “For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”

    A lot of times, life has been so very difficult, more because I have made it that way!

    But, oh how true, as you said, “it’s a beautiful journey,” when we finally leave it with Him! How much lighter our load does become!

Leave a Reply

