Ch-ch-ch-changes…

You may like change…you may not…but one thing’s for sure–change is inevitable! Sometimes, I welcome and embrace it–I sure can get restless when I really need some change. However, there’s still that part of me that just wants to stay where I am. Well, I’m starting to realize that the truly important lesson is learning that “for everything, there is a season.” We don’t need to change, just for the sake of change, any more than we need to stand still, just because it feels comfortable!

So, anyway, if I’ve become a little more resistant to change, it may be partly because at times in my life, I would make sudden changes, just because… Sometimes, if things weren’t going well, I would sort of panic and attempt to “make a move” without really thinking it through or praying enough. Well, I now want to be a little more thoughtful in my approach–especially since I simply don’t have the energy anymore for too much senseless running around in circles!!

You know, I’m also realizing that often when trying to do things differently, it really is the little things that can make the biggest difference. In the past, when I’ve wanted to be more effective, improve in some way, etc., I tended to be too “heavy-handed” with the alterations. Instead of just tweaking something a little or making minor adjustments, I would want to do a complete overhaul!

So now, why all this focus on change?

Well, of course, this is the time of year when so many people are making their “New Year’s Resolutions.” A friend mentioned to me tonight that in more recent years, she has resolved not to make any more such resolutions because she has never kept any of them! I know exactly what she means, and I’m sure many of you do as well. In fact, a couple of days ago, when I was considering some of the alterations I wanted to make, I remember thinking I can’t stand the term “New Year’s Resolutions!” It’s just too daunting–I don’t like the phrase, and therefore I refuse to use it! Instead, I will call these:

Changes For A Better Life

1. Limit refined sugar, bread, heavy starches, etc.–my pancreas will thank me later. Also, not only might my waistline diminish a little, but my overall focus, energy, and stamina will be much better in the long-run!

2. Stay away from chocolate–I have often liked to think it’s like a friend, but it’s really not! I’m moody enough without it, and one piece is never enough! My loved ones who have to live with me will thank me eventually.

3. Watch what I say–Certain words may have recently become rationalized as acceptable alternatives to curse words. …But they’re really not so acceptable when my kids say them, are they?!

4. GET MOVING AGAIN!–I used to move–what happened?! I know that recliner looks so inviting, especially in the evenings, but…c’mon! O.k., so I don’t want to be running around frantically, missing out on down-time, quality time with the kids, etc. …But hey, get moving with the kids–get active with them–and do so on a regular basis!

5. Rely on God and His Word all the time–Not partially, not sometimes, not when it’s convenient! …And rely on Him instead of:

–myself, others, coffee, chocolate, sugar, medication, food, amount of sleep, looks, age, health, accomplishments, circumstances, finances, my abilities, my plans, my ideas, my agenda, my good intentions, etc., etc., etc.

_________________________

Well, there are other ideas for change swirling around in my head, but you know, maybe those 5 really are plenty for me to focus on right now! I must remember that I can’t tackle too many things all at once. I’m glad He’s still working on me, and I certainly know that the transformation will take a lifetime! Hey, change can be a little scary and difficult, but it can also be very exciting!

8 Responses

  1. Wow, thanks so much, Gin!

  2. Hello Ambuj,

    Yes, I have heard that saying, and there is certainly truth and wisdom in it. I just try to be careful in putting too much faith in such sayings (or anything else besides my Lord, as already expressed in this post).

    Thanks for your comment!

    Blessings,
    Janet

  3. We generally say “Change is the only things which is constant” and your write up supports this saying…

  4. Hi Janet,

    I really enjoyed your post. My favorite part of the post was #5 in “Changes For a Better Life”. I’m going to print this off and display it on my desk. Believe this holds immeasurable value for all of us.

    Have a great day!

    Blessings and Smiles,
    Gin

  5. […] came over me.  It was then my thoughts shifted to my blogger friend Janet’s post “Ch-ch-ch-changes…” in which she listed some “Changes For A Better Life”.  As I read the post print […]

  6. Hi Janet,

    Thought I’d share with you that this post was a great source of help to me this week. I keep it on my desk…and #5 in Changes For a Better Life…spoke to my heart. My post this week tells my story. Thanks for the great post! Have a wonderful day!

    Blessings,
    Gin

    P.S. I love the pictures you post. I have 2 dogs and they are precious to me.

  7. Oh, Gin, my blogging friend, you have no idea how much your post and comments have touched my heart this morning! Thanks!

    “Until next time…”

    Oh, and if you want to know more about how you’ve blessed me today, check out the comment I left on your blog! I’ve written you a “book!”

  8. […] Comments Janet on Ch-ch-ch-changes…Gin on Ch-ch-ch-changes…Relying Fully On the… on Ch-ch-ch-changes…writeathome on […]

Leave a Reply

