Pickin’ and Grinin’

My dad’s been playing guitar for over 50 years. Dad got his first guitar when he was 11 and was playing well by the age of 12.   I guess one could say “it’s in his blood.” It’s a joy to watch Dad play the guitar–he’s always had such a special talent, rhythm, “soul,” and enthusiasm. One of these days (soon I hope), I plan to post a video of just Dad pickin’ and grinin’ some of his favorite tunes, with some of his own unique arrangements. For now, I am posting an instructional video on beginning guitar (that my husband Scott shot and edited for Chestnut Photography):

**Note: More videos to come… and Dad’s still planning to do a lot more pickin’ and grinin’ !

**P.S. Yes, I’m the one speaking in the video. I laugh every time I see myself acting so serious and stiff. 😀

2 Responses

  1. You are too kind, Jendi! 😀

    Well, about me playing guitar, I know a few chords and can play some simple praise songs (my dad’s the true guitarist, not me!). I used to play a lot more when I was in college. However, I’m definitely out of practice now!

    It is a really cool and wonderful instrument…I love to sing and softly strum along…and suddenly I’m “in another world!”………….

    Hey, wait a minute…I think you’re on to something! I’m gonna go dig mine out too! 😉 😀

  2. You did a great job! Do you play guitar? That’s an instrument I would love to play. I might have to dig one out and practice those chords!

Leave a Reply

