Get On Up!!

I was praying this morning for help and strength, while struggling to get on up this cold and dark morning, when a fantastic “oldie, but goodie” came to mind! I haven’t heard or thought of this song in more than decade, but I believe God gave it to me this morning, and oh, what a gift! It was just what I needed!

Our Daily Bread for today is actually entitled, “The Most Depressing Day.” The key verse comes from Matthew 14:7, which says, “Be of good cheer! It is I; do not be afraid.” The key line in bold at the bottom says, “When you feel hopeless, look to the God of hope.” The writer, Julie Ackerman Link, says:

“Scientists in the UK have calculated that the most depressing day of the year comes in the third week of January. Winter days are dark and cold, holiday excitement has worn off just as Christmas debts are coming due, and New Year’s resolutions have all been broken. The celebrations, gift-giving, and good intentions that once made us feel happy now press us down and leave us feeling hopeless.”

Can you identify? I sure can. The tendency toward depression is something I’ve always struggled with, and it’s particularly difficult this time of year. Furthermore, certain very trying circumstances still continue to loom over our heads, but we don’t have to just look at the situation. Instead, we must look to God for strength to carry on and to keep fighting the good battle of faith, until He says, “It’s enough.”

So, without further ado, here’s my song for the day:

__________________________

Walk Right Out Of This Valley

By: Hazel J. Trubee

Chorus:
Well I’m gonna walk right out of this valley
Lift my hands and praise the Lord
Said I ain’t gonna let old Satan get me down, down, down
Why should I sit here till I die?
Heaven is a waiting up a little bit higher
I’m gonna walk out of this valley with my Lord

Now the Lord let down the hedge on Job to try him
Took all of his children and everything that he owned (all he owned)
But no Job didn’t sit down and cry
No he lifted his head up high, and came out of that valley
Praised God with a whole lot more!

Repeat Chorus

Well now the road that we’ve got to travel to that city
Well it won’t always be on the mountaintop (mountaintop)
But you know the valley that we’ve got to face
God said He’s gonna give us grace
To come up on the hill where the sun is shining bright

Repeat Chorus (x2)

Well I’m gonna walk right out of this valley
Lift my hands and praise the Lord
Said I ain’t gonna let old Satan get me down, down, down
Down, down, down
I’m gonna walk out of this valley with my Lord

Scriptural Reference:

“After Job had prayed for his friends, the Lord made him prosperous again and gave him twice as much as he had before.” Job 41:10
“Now there were four men with leprosy at the entrance of the city gate. They said to each other, ‘Why stay here until we die?'” 2 Kings 7:3

**Note: To read today’s devotional from Our Daily Bread in its entirety, you may visit here. Also, you may listen to the above song, here.

2 Responses

  1. Yeah, it is cool isn’t it?! Thanks for stopping by! Hope things are going well your way, Ruth. I’ll be back to see you later over at your blog!

  2. Amen!!! cool how God gives you songs 😀

Leave a Reply

