Wisdom To Know The Difference

O.k. , sometimes I wake up feeling a little tired, (but more so “down”), and I just need to press on. The problem, however, is that once “I get on a roll,” I don’t always know when to stop and rest! So, I am continuously praying for the wisdom to know the difference in when I need to “pull myself up by my bootstraps,” and when I just need to quit stressing and relax a little.

When I start to get sick, I often refuse to say that I am sick, and I can keep going and “fight it off” for a while. However, I am starting to learn the hard way that if I don’t take extra good care of myself and at least take more breaks, it all certainly has a way of catching up with me! Well, today is one of those days– my body is in full rebellion toward me and will not let me ignore it’s cries any longer! Yes, today, on top of the cold I’ve been fighting, there is also something horrid and quite unpleasant occurring in my stomach. It’s like there’s a beast in there, trying to find a way out, while tying my insides up in knots!!

I guess you get the picture–enough with the imagery, huh?! 🙂 So, anyway, the body wins out today, I tell you. Yep, today is truly a day of rest for me…and chicken noodle soup, plain white rice, and ginger ale. 😀

However, tomorrow’s another day. I’m praying that I’ll feel better of course. I’m also praying for that special wisdom and discernment that I need from on high…to handle each and every day as it comes!

6 Responses

  1. Hey Carol, you made me chuckle–I can so relate to the not being able to remember stuff!

    Yeah, I am feeling much better today (than I was Sat. night and yesterday)! Praise The Lord! Working on that “balance thing” today with the Lord’s help–trying to press on, but not press too hard! 🙂 You know, do what I can, but try not to overdo it!

    God Bless!

  2. Hi there, Abbie Joice.
    Thanks! Yes, that chicken noodle soup is great stuff! 🙂

  3. This is sounding so familiar to me!!! I ‘used to be’ one of those ‘ keep going, your fine, just a bit of scratch in the throat going on…’ and then I’d start to wilt towards the end of that statement and be off work, sick with a cold, but the underlying truth would be, it was either stress, exhaustion catching up with me……

    Since I went long term sick in 2006 with a brain tumor (now 99% removed!!!) I have had to change my busy lifestyle, and trust me it was hard…….and now more than ever, even though I am back in my busy central government job (work for a Cabinet Minister in the London, England)…I still need to use that wisdom and discernment to guide me through the day and to know when to ‘slow down’ or to ‘stop’……

    We do need to take care of ourselves, just as you say. God wants us to have balance in every area of our lives…..something I am continually working towards, especially this year…. 🙂

  4. To Felicita:

    Thanks so much for your comment. Yes, “balance” is a word that God keeps trying to remind me of–something that is very important, yet easily lost!

    Yes, I like too what you stated about the underlying cause of getting sick, often being more about stress and exhaustion.

    Take care and God bless!
    Janet

  5. Hi! Hope you feel better soon 🙂 seems I’d like some chicken noodle soup myself

  6. Hi Janet,

    Sorry to hear of your sickness, and I hope you’re feeling better today. It is a good thing to pray for balance, and I try to do it when I remember to pray for it. Perhaps I need to pray for my memory too. LOL

Leave a Reply

