So, What’s My Problem?!

Ah, so just what has been going on with me lately, huh? Well, I think “my problem” the last couple of days has been…that I have been cooped up in this house, thinking that I have a problem!! )(O.k., does that make any sense?) You see, I don’t do well “staying at home for days on end;” seeing the same drab, “crayon-marked up” walls all the time! I get kind of bored, anxious, depressed, restless, and “smother-some.”

I also don’t do myself any favors by focusing on a physical ailment or difficulty–whether real or imagined! If I have a true physical problem, it will only get worse. If I have no real physical issue, I will likely come to believe that I do! For example, checking my blood pressure several times a day seems to only make it increase! Paying too much attention to my heart rate only makes it beat faster! So should I ignore such symptoms? No. However, sitting around too much and/or worrying about such things isn’t going to improve anything either! I have to get moving again–slowly and gradually–getting myself back into shape. (Now that I feel more confident that a little exertion is not going to give me a heart-attack!) )

I have been much in prayer this past week, and I feel the Lord impressing many important lessons on my heart and mind. He is telling me that I also need to stress less, lighten up a little, and have more fun! Yes, I do need to be more ACTIVE, but in a fun way, not a stressful way! You see, I tend to gravitate toward things that put unnecessary time constraints, added pressure, unnecessary stress, etc. upon myself! I want to learn how to live by faith, flexibility, and fun and less by rules, legalism, “shoulds,” expectations, etc.

I need to BREATHE–and breathe freely! I need to enjoy life as it comes. I wish to laugh, learn, and love. This “stress thing” just isn’t working for me anymore! In fact, it’s choking the very life out of me!

God wants me to be full of love, joy, and exuberance. Yet, I’m so “busy” trying to fulfill my long “to do” list, “please” Him, please others, please my own expectations of myself… God simply does not want this for me. This is not the life He has called me to. Does He want me to change what I am doing or rather change how I do it?”…..

__________________________

We went to the park for a little while today. It was quite sunny, but the wind was cold. No matter; I donned my trusty scarf and head-band (to cover my ears). I felt like a caged bird who had been temporarily set free. Fresh air and sunshine–ah, it’s good stuff, I tell ya.

So, did I suddenly burst forth with boundless energy? Did I run, jump, leap about, do cartwheels and such? Well…N-o-o-o, of course not. (I don’t have a “death wish,” nor do I relish pain!)

However, I did walk around the park a few times at a comfortable, reasonable pace, and I did have more energy than I have had the last week or so. It was more of a slow, steady…peaceful energy. Of course, that’s the kind of energy I suppose I really need to learn to develop and sustain, huh?!

___________________________

So, back to my original question, “What’s my problem?” Well, you know what, I no longer have one. So, how can it be as simple and quick as all that? Does this mean that suddenly I have had such a wonderful epiphany, that I will have no more difficulties? No, certainly not. It does mean, however, that I don’t have to carry around the weight of my problems along with that of the entire Universe! My Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ “bore it all” for you and for me, and no difficulty is too small or too large for Him!

In Matthew 11:28-30 Jesus said, “Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.

__________________________

**P.S. If you know about my recent prayer request and health concerns, you may read the next post for an update on what God is doing!

One Response

  1. […] of all, I have to trust in Him, learn to relax a little, and quit stressing so much! (See last post here.) Thank you Lord, for giving me the courage to face these everyday challenges. I know that You, My […]

Leave a Reply

