This Too Shall Pass…

…for with new courage and boldness I once again step out in faith, trusting in my Lord to lead the way.

__________________________

I just love it when the daily devotional from Our Daily Bread seems like it was written just for me.

Yesterday was one of those days that it fit my needs perfectly. The message was entitled, “Courage: Live It.” The key verse (one that I have referred back to many times in my life) was 2 Timothy 1:7, which says:

“God has not given us a spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.”

Well, you know, I don’t really like to think of myself as one who goes around afraid. In fact, it is true that I don’t fear many things that a lot of people do. However, there are little fears and worries that I let get to me that many people probably don’t. I also have a way of letting things build up on the inside, even when I think I am dealing with them. All of “this stuff” (stress, anxiety, worry, etc.) has to go somewhere, and if not properly dealt with, it will come out one way or another.

So, all that said, it seems that my old foe “Mrs. Anxiety” may have returned; just in a different form (instead of the previous emotional outbursts and hyperventilating from several years ago). Besides the bladder infection, the doctor has not been able to find any other physical problems (Hooray–right?). However, what does that mean? Why is my heart racing and my blood pressure going up? Well…these symptoms may have more to do with me not taking good care of myself, not relaxing enough, bottling up stress and feelings, etc., etc., etc.

Once again, even though I thought I had been handling things (and giving them to God), perhaps I had really just been pushing down and ignoring them. Well, as I stated earlier, the body has a way of showing these things and letting them out, regardless. Does this mean I’m crazy? No. Does this mean that I’m a “bad Christian?” No.

You see, God made me–the “hypersensitive” person that I am–and He loves me and understands me better than I do myself. Now, when I say hypersensitive–does that mean I’m easily hurt or crushed by any little thing? No. (Well, I may have been that way as a teenager, but not as much now). However, it does mean that with my ADD and very sensitive nervous system, that I can be easily overwhelmed (by thoughts, feelings, sounds, sights, “to do” lists, etc.). Therefore, I must be vigilant in making sure I have outlets, breaks, “down-time, etc. I also need regular time away from others–time to myself and alone with God to reflect, meditate, and pray.

So, how do I accomplish all this, as a homeschooling mom?! Well, the Lord is showing me that through prayer, trial and error, careful planning, and observation, it can be accomplished. Also, I just have to use that wonderfully creative and resourceful brain He has given me! I need to find new, innovative ways of doing things to discover the balance that I need. Most of all, I have to trust in Him, learn to relax a little, and quit stressing so much! (See last post here.)

Thank you Lord, for giving me the courage to face these everyday challenges. I know that You, My Lord and Savior Jesus Christ have won the victory over all things–even death! I know that in You, I can have the victory too! With Your strength, I can do all things! (Phil. 4:13) I stand firmly on Your promises and take much comfort in knowing that You will never leave me. (Hebrews 13:5)

__________________________

Our Daily Bread devotional for 2/19 ends with:

Lord, give me the courage to rise above fear,

Even of danger, because You are near;

I would be faithful to face any foe

While I am walking with You here below. ~Hess

“Courage will follow when faith takes the lead.”

____________________________

**Note: To read the 2/19 Our Daily Bread devotional in its entirety, you may visit here.

Leave a Reply

