Why, Oh Why, Would You Do That?!

Well, o.k., this post (or series of posts) has been on my mind for a while, so here goes!

There’s a question asked of many a homeschooling mom, and that is: “Why would you home-school?” The implication or follow-up question is often, “Why would anyone home-school?” Other related questions are:

–Are you qualified to do that?–What is your (educational) background?

–What kind of standards do you go by? How do you fulfill the state requirements?

–How will your kids ever get into college?

–What about socialization?!

___________________________

Believe me, I’ve heard them all. I’ve also been asked these questions several times by several different people. Sometimes people are truly just curious; they don’t know much about homeschooling and want to know more, etc. (For example, see prior post with pertinent comments here). However, of course, other times, people seem to already have “their minds made up” before they ask any questions. In fact, just today, a complete stranger asked me a couple of “pointed” questions….

After finishing our studies this morning, I took the kids to the park at about 1:00 in the afternoon. I met a few other moms, and one asked me about the age of my daughter. When I told her that Sarah is 6 (almost 7), with a puzzled look on her face, she immediately said, “Well, that means she’s in 1st grade, right?!” Then, I explained that Sarah is home-schooled and is doing 1st-2nd grade work, etc. Next, the lady asks, “Why would you home-school?!” She even went on to ask about my background and qualifications!
Unfortunately, the conversation didn’t get much better from there. Her overall attitude seemed to be that I must be weird; some sort of fanatic, etc. It’s “getting old” that some people tend to think that home-schoolers are “crazy” extremists from religious cults or something!! Of course, the other popular concept implied was that only the “professionals” are qualified to teach children, and this stereotype is also quite annoying!
However, you know what?! If people want to call my family weird, then so be it! I don’t want my children to conform to the norms of this society, and as Christians, my kids and I need to be different! We are “in the world, but not of the world!”
Well, I am certainly not done with this topic, but this post will have to do for now. There will definitely be several more posts to follow! Until then…
___________________________
**Note: Again, if you are interested, you may view my comment on the post “Homeschooling Must Go On…” My blogging friend, Ruth asked some homeschooling related questions to which I gave an in-depth, “off the cuff “response. (You may view by clicking here).
**P.S. Like I stated (on one of my homeschooling social networks) today, I may not always like people treating me like I’m WEIRD, but I’ll get over it. I might as well, because I realize that some people are going to think what they want to anyway, and going against the norm automatically puts me in that “ODD” category! Also, Jesus has called me to be different and “set apart,” and that’s good enough for me! )
**P.P.S. In the related posts to follow, I will address each of the questions mentioned above, so “stay tuned!”
8 Responses

  1. You go girl!! 🙂

  2. Thanks Julie–I appreciate that!!

  3. I applaud you for doing such a fine job. I wish more mom would teach their children. Maybe then we would not have so many kids on drugs and others things that is not good. Maybe more in church.
    Keep up the good work.

  4. Hi Becky,

    I have been praying for you–I hope you’re feeling much better.

    Thanks so much for your continued encouragement! Looking forward to seeing you back at church!

    Love,
    Janet

  5. **General Comment And Update:

    I also want to say that I am not wanting to judge other moms who have made different choices, any more than I want others to judge me for the choice I have made to home-school. My aim is not even to put down the stranger who asked me those questions the other day. I just want to bring this issue to light, and address these unfair and false stereotypes. I also wish to later address these questions about homeschooling and to reaffirm for myself and others my valid decision to educate my children at home. (If you start to consider homeschooling for the excellent option that it is, all the better!) -)

    Blessings and warmest regards,
    Janet

  6. Hi Janet,

    You know, there will always be some opposition when we do something that goes against what is considered “the norm.” Most people I’ve encountered have had a favorable response when they learn that my kids are homeschooled. Occasionally, there will be those, like you said who bring up questions, not because they really want to know, but just to be cantankerous or something. I had a teacher that once said that ” a man persuaded against his will is of the same opinion still”, and I think that is the case for these types of people. They don’t want to be persuaded that we are doing something good for our children. They just want to feel like their view is right. When my husband and I got married, we made a decision that we would never have a television in our home. We received more opposition about this than we ever had about homeschooling. When we lived in New York, we even had a few people that offered to give us a television. I guess maybe they thought we couldn’t afford one, but that wasn’t the case. The point I want to make is that there are always going to be some people that don’t agree with or oppose our convictions no matter how much we try to explain things to them. We simply have to go on and not allow our spirits to become bitter(that’s where the loving them anyway comes in that I posted about)but continue to follow our God given predictions and strive to please Him. I hope this all makes sense. Anyway, I appreciate this post and the stand you have taken in homeschooling your children.

    Blessings,

    Carol

  7. Hi Carol,

    You make very good points here–thanks for giving a thoughtful response. I think you’re right that people who have already made up their minds, don’t want to be persuaded. Good point too that there will always be opposition to going against “the norm,” and that there will always be some people who oppose our convictions.

    Thanks for the reminder too that I don’t need to let myself get bogged down in worrying about explaining or convincing others or let myself get bitter at all either.

    Thanks so much for Godly wisdom and insight! God Bless you, Carol.

  8. […] –Why, Oh Why, Would You Do That? […]

Leave a Reply

