Homeschooling Questions…

This post is part of a series on “Questions About Homeschooling.” The first question, addressed herein is:

–Why would you home-school–What are your reasons for homeschooling?

Of course, I know I don’t have to explain any of this to anyone. However, I stated in an earlier post that I would address these issues, so I am. Therefore, if you have ever wondered about any of these things, you may want to read on. Furthermore, if you are considering homeschooling yourself, you may be interested in some of the information contained in this post series. (**Note: Of course, if you live in a different state, you will need to check out specific, individual state requirements!)

Below are some reasons that my husband and I have chosen to home-school:

1. We do not like or agree with the following aspects of public school:

–lack of God, anti-Biblical teaching, anti-moral attitudes, lack of values, etc.

–materialistic attitude of students, parents, teachers

–disrespectful attitudes (of and toward) parents, students, others, authority, teachers, etc.

–lack of problem solving and creativity

___________________________

2. Instead, we want to encourage and facilitate:

–Living close to God, prayer, learning about the Bible, and how to live a Christian life

–Close bonds and appreciation and respect of the family unit

–Respect and love for God and others

–problem-solving, individuality, creativity, imagination, etc.

–an excitement for learning

–an attitude of gratefulness and proper perspective on material things and matters of eternity

__________________________

**Note: In the next post of this series, I will discuss parent qualifications and state standards. For previous posts on this topic, you may click on one or more of the following:

Thursday Thirteen (13 Reasons For Homeschooling)

Why, Oh Why, Would You Do That?

3 Responses

  1. Hi Janet!

    I know you recently posted on something similar to this, but thought I would share with you about a comment someone made to me last week. It was really my first time I felt I had to defend my decision to homeschool, so it will be memorable.

    I was at a restaurant, and the waiter asked if my friends and I were teachers, and I said “yes”. When he found out I was a homeschool teacher, he said, “Oh, well, that doesn’t count.” Then, he later asked if I taught for 8 hours a day, “like all the other teachers”.

    Needless to say, I wasn’t pleased, yet strangely felt somewhat prepared since I knew many, many homeschoolers face similar situations. Still, it wasn’t pleasant, and just made me realize that we “homeschoolers” are still seen by many as something that “doesn’t count”. Kinda made me sad for a minute.

    Looking forward to the rest of your series!

    God Bless,

    julie

  2. Hi Julie!

    Wow, at first, I was a little shocked by what the waiter said to you. However, upon further thought, it kind of echoed a familiar attitude that people usually just aren’t as blatant about (as this waiter)!

    Thanks so much for sharing your experience. I think it is important for each of us to share these things. I think that we also need to work toward dispelling the myths and stereotypes, when opportunities arise, and as led by the Holy Spirit.

    I have found that since my homeschooling is also rooted in my faith, that when people are genuinely curious about homeschooling, discussions can also turn into witnessing opportunities!

    Thanks again for your comment and encouragement!

    Blessings,
    Janet

    P.S. Whenever I start to get upset about other people’s biased opinions and ridicule of homeschooling, I think back to Carol’s recent post on “Love Them Anyway.” (One we both commented on).

    Note: For those who don’t know, you can locate Carol’s website–“Write At Home” in my sidebar to the right.

  3. Hi Janet.
    My name is Cristian Davis, and along with my wife Elvira have 4 children with Homeschooling two years. We live in Chile, South America. We believe it’s the best way to keep our children with Christian values and a good education. We congratulate and continues forward.
    May God bless you.
    Cristian Davis and Elvira Undurraga.

    Hi Cristian and Elvira!

    Thanks so much for your comment. It’s always a blessing to receive encouragement from other Christians who are also homeschooling.

    Love in Christ,
    Janet

Leave a Reply

