What Does Easter Mean To You?

I know what it means to me–it’s a time of rejoicing, a time of reflection, a time of hope, and a time of thanks. It makes sense to me that Easter is celebrated right around the beginning of Spring. Spring has always been such a wonderful season to me–one of new beginnings, hope, and new life coming forth. Easter is about new life too–Jesus defeating death and offering us the opportunity for life eternal with Him. Now I don’t know about you, but to me, that’s something to rejoice about!

__________________________

Yesterday I took the kids to Clemmons State Forest to enjoy some of God’s beautiful creation on a lovely Spring day. On the way back, we stopped off at the Wendy’s drive-through. The traffic was really bad; hoards of people out on this Easter weekend, and half of them at the nearby Wal-mart. As I was sitting in an extremely long line at a stop sign, I remember thinking about all the people out and about. I honestly thought about how Jesus loves each and every one and gave Himself for this old world. As I continued to think about all the people, I recall wondering how many knew, how many cared, and how many ever thought about it… Sadly, I’m sure there have been a few Easters that I too have given little thought to the Savior and what He has done for us.

__________________________

However, to the Christian, Easter needs to be a time of great joy and enthusiasm! (Without Easter, there wouldn’t be anything worth celebrating, but because of the Resurrection, we have every reason to rejoice!) Recently, my Pastor mentioned the movie “The Passion” and how the focus was on the crucifixion and not on the resurrection. He was disappointed that so little time was given to showing the victory of Christ. Well, the opposite is true of Easter, because it is a celebration of the Resurrection–a time to focus on the extraordinary miracle of Jesus and what it means for each of us!

__________________________

Our Daily Bread for tomorrow states: “Christ’s resurrection is the bud of promise–our resurrection is the flower of fulfillment!” Mart De Hann states, “No other event in human history is more significant. No other event is so full of immediate hope and ultimate victory for the saints in Christ Jesus.” I pray that each of us will take a little time out this weekend and thank our Lord for His awesome gift. Let us rejoice and be glad in the victory; experiencing the true essence of Easter!

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Jesus Christ today is risen,

And o’er death triumphant reigns;

He has burst the grave’s strong prison,

Leading sin herself in chains. –Luther

_____________________________________________________________________________________

“Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who…has begotten us again to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ.”1 Peter 1:3

_____________________________________________________________________________________

**Note: To view Our Daily Bread devotional for Easter Sunday, you may click here.

**P.S.: Other posts for this Easter include:

An Easter Hymn

Great Quotes For Easter

One Response

  1. Great post! I agree with your Pastor, I too found the attention payed to His death over shadowed what He died for, us. Thanks for reminding me that much like myself He died for the rest of us who are standing in line.
    Blessings on you at this amazing time of our salvation.

    Thanks. Happy Easter!

    Blessings,
    Janet

Leave a Reply

