How It All Started…

…that is, how I got started on this homeschooling adventure. You see, this week’s meme for The Heart of the Matter is entitled “How You Got Started Homeschooling.”

So, let’s see…where was I? Oh yes, the beginning…

Way, way back, many moons ago, I received my first introduction to “Homeschooling.” I was…oh…about in my third year of college, when I took a public speaking class. (What does a public speaking class have to do with homeschooling, you ask? Well, hold on a minute, and I will tell you).

You see, prior to this before mentioned class, I had never known anything about homeschooling. I had never known anyone who had homeschooled nor anyone who had been home-schooled. In fact, I don’t know that I had ever given a single thought to “homeschooling” or if I had even heard of it before!

O.k., anyway, I know I must move on with this… Well, in this public speaking class, we were to do a persuasive speech on a given topic. We were each given a particular topic and were told to do our research and come up with a persuasive, convincing argument for the given concept. Next, of course, we would deliver our speech to the class and be given a grade by our teacher, along with comments from other class members. So, as God would have it, I was given the topic of “Homeschooling.” I remember doing extensive research, since I knew absolutely nothing about this concept. I also recall interviewing a lady from the NC Homeschoolers Association and being quite impressed with her comments (which seemed strange to me, given that I had been an education major!) In fact, I still remember the gist of one of her comments; one concerning “socialization.” She told me about “socialization” being one of the biggest arguments against homeschooling, and she simply replied “…When it comes to public schools–that’s not the kind of socialization I want for my kids!”

That interview took place about 15 yrs. ago, and God has brought that statement back to my remembrance many times. Sometimes I start to wonder why I went to college for 6 yrs. and worked for the school system for five, but I suppose that’s exactly what I needed to do after all! It certainly didn’t take but a year or two of working for the public school system for me to identify more and more with the advantages of homeschooling!

Well, that’s how God first planted the seeds… There were a few other things that happened along the way, throughout the years–now I see that these were all messages from Him. Finally, a couple of months before my oldest was to start Kindergarten, He brought two different homeschooling moms into my life. One in particular, was around just long enough (before she moved) for me to really learn much more about this homeschooling thing. Even though God was already strongly dealing with me, I still resisted and went ahead and registered Sarah in the nearby elementary school. However, He wouldn’t leave me alone about it, and I didn’t feel peace until I conceded…

So, where will this story end? Well, you know, I didn’t start this story, and I will not be the One to finish it! You see, Jesus is the “author and finisher!”

________________________________________

1 Wherefore seeing we also are compassed about with so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which doth so easily beset us, and let us run with patience the race that is set before us, 2 Looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith; who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is set down at the right hand of the throne of God. 3 For consider him that endured such contradiction of sinners against himself, lest ye be wearied and faint in your minds. –Hebrews 12:1-3

______________________________

**Note: For more posts on this meme, visit The Heart of the Matter. I REALLY identify with the post by Cheryl @ Homeschool Journey, which you may find here.

3 Responses

  1. Hi Janet! Thanks for stopping by my blog. I enjoyed reading how you got started. BTW-one of my favorite songs is Word of God Speak.

    Hi Tracey! Yep, I could identify some with some details of your beginning. Blessings, Janet

  2. Cool story. I’m always interested in hearing how other people got started in homeschooling. I knew before my kids were born that I wanted to homeschool, but the thing that was scary to me was how to do it. Someday, I will share the story of how God lead me to just the right people to help me get started. Thanks for sharing your story.

    Blessings,
    Carol

    Hey Carol, I look forward to hearing more about how you got started!

  3. I always think that having a tender heart and working in the school system would be a big way to become interested in homeschooling your own.

    Hey Lori, Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

