Where’s My Home?

I heard a song the other day about looking forward to Heaven. It’s another song by 33 Miles, called “What Could Be Better.” Some people, even other Christians, may not understand why I seek out such songs. I read a comment on the net yesterday, in which a Christian person mentioned not understanding people talking so much about Heaven and wanting to leave this world. To this individual, some Christians focus too much on their longing for Heaven and not enough on helping make this world a better place now. In this person’s opinion, daydreaming about Heaven can make us useless where we are in the present, and such songs promote a fatalistic view.

While I can understand the concern to some degree, I cannot agree with the overall attitude and opinion. To me, looking toward Heaven is what helps me to press forward. I don’t believe any of us as Christians should use our promise of salvation as an excuse to ignore what is going on around us. In fact, I believe quite the opposite is true. Our eternal HOPE is the basis that keeps us going in this world. No, we should not sit waiting idly by, content with our “free ticket,” while there are people around us in need of food, shelter, love, understanding, truth, hope, etc… We cannot turn our backs, and we cannot give up on doing good.

However, we also need not lose sight of our final destination. This world is NOT our home, and it is NOT our joy. If we don’t keep Heaven in view, it can be all too easy to get bogged down by this world, to get discouraged, to become subject to it, to become too much a part of it, etc…. To me, this is not a negative view, but a positive one, that can help spur us on. I don’t believe we should go around constantly complaining about how bad the world is and all the while doing nothing about it. With the guidance and power of the Holy Spirit, I think we should do everything we can to reach out to others, help the needy, give to the poor, minister to the hurt and sick, and to “spread the Gospel to all nations…”

However, once again, let us also not lose sight of our true HOME. “Home is where the heart is,” and mine is with Jesus. I don’t believe it’s wrong for Christians to daydream about Heaven. The knowledge and assurance of my salvation brings me much peace and joy. While currently in this temporary dwelling, I don’t intend to quit trying to “overcome evil with good,” but I also have no plans of “sticking around” or relocating! Again, this world is NOT my home, and for that I just can’t help but praise and thank the Lord!!!!

Well, I have a lot more I could say on this issue, but I’ll just have to save it for another post. Instead, how ’bout we get to the tunes?! If you like looking toward Heaven, you might really enjoy this song:

________________________________________

What Could Be Better

(By: 33 Miles)

I’ve heard it said today
Is all we’re given
Tomorrow may not come
So you better start living
I guess it all depends
On your point of view
Pardon me if I
Just don’t listen
To everything the world
Says I’m missing
There’s nothing here and now
I’m gonna hold on to

I’m living in the days ahead
I’m already dancing on the streets of gold
Can’t stop celebrating in my soul
I’m living in the days ahead
Nothing on earth could ever compare
Can’t wait for the day when I get there
When I see Jesus face to face
Tell me what could be better
Tell me what could be better

If home is where the heart
Is then I’m in Heaven
It’s the promise of tomorrow
That I’ve been given
Who is waiting there I am living for
He’s everything I love
And I believe in
And I can hardly wait
Just to see Him
And hear Him say well done
I couldn’t ask for more

I’m living in the days ahead
I’m already dancing on the streets of gold
Can’t stop celebrating in my soul
I’m living in the days ahead
Nothing on earth could ever compare
Can’t wait for the day when I get there
When I see Jesus face to face
Tell me what could be better
Tell me what could be better

Life is full of ups and downs
Inside outs, round and rounds
Can’t blame me for dreaming about it

I’m living in the days ahead
I’m already dancing on the streets of gold
Can’t stop celebrating in my soul
I’m living in the days ahead
Nothing on earth could ever compare
Can’t wait for the day when I get there
When I see Jesus face to face
Tell me what could be better
Tell me what could be better

_______________________________________

**Note: You can listen to the above song here.

3 Responses

  1. Some days I think that the only thing that keeps me going is my hope in heaven.

    You and me, both, Lori!

  2. I look so forward to going to heaven. I can’t wait!!

    Me too, Gina!

  3. That was a great inspirational song! Very uplifting.

    Regina .

Leave a Reply

