Getting Ready For Church

This morning, getting my son ready for church was like many Sunday mornings ’round here. The only difference this particular morning was that I tried to find the humor in it, instead of just getting so flustered and upset… This is how things went with my little Kerry:

_________________________

Kerry came out wearing a mismatched shirt and pants, white socks, and mismatched shoes. Knowing how I was already feeling and how this particular situation usually goes, I promptly decided I needed reinforcements, so I sent in my husband Scott. Kerry then came out with a nice shirt (which actually fit) and suit pants that didn’t totally clash! That would have been good enough for me at that point, but Scott wanted me to find Kerry’s matching suit jacket.

And so began the search. I checked everywhere…his closet, the floor, his dresser drawers, the corners, behind the dresser, etc. Then, suddenly, I said, “Oh no, don’t tell me…it’s under your bed, isn’t it?!” Sure enough, I found it, along with two of Kerry’s dress vests, all wadded up in a corner under his bed.

While Kerry was trying to complain about not wanting to wear a suit, I found him a tie that matched his shirt and suit perfectly. Then, Kerry tried to whine about wanting to wear a different tie (which of course didn’t match!) So, naturally, I told him to go ask his Daddy which tie looked better, while I tried to finish up some other things!

I was rushing around, trying to get ready, when I noticed Kerry sitting on the couch in the living room. (I remember thinking, “Can it be…is he actually ready?!”) However, knowing Kerry, I took a closer look… There was my little boy, sitting there having a pretend fight with the two ties–one in each hand! At this point, frustration finally gave way to hysterical laughter!!

Well, laughing’s certainly better than crying, right?! -D

So, for those of you with older boys, will you please tell me…Does it get any better?! You see, I don’t want to fill my head with grandiose illusions and false hope! But, then again, ignorance can be bliss, right?! -D

4 Responses

  1. I can certainly identify with Sunday morning getting ready frustrations :)! I have 3 kids that I dress and get ready for church on Sundays. My older son is 5. I always lay out the clothes that I want him to wear to church, then he just puts them on. I let him choose his own play clothes, but church clothes are my choice. I found that if I just have them ready for him after he eats his breakfast, there is no arguing about what he will wear. Of course, that depends on me having the clothes clean and actually where they belong, too…I don’t know how many times I have searched for some particular item like you were describing! It is definitely a hectic time! Thanks for the post…a nice reminder that we aren’t the only ones feeling a little crazy on Sunday mornings :).

    Hi Cynthia,

    I know…I keep thinking I’m going to lay his clothes out the night before, but then Saturdays get very busy, I’m up late the night before, etc., etc., etc. Some mornings I manage to lay his clothes out while he’s eating breakfast, like you said. He often will still try to find something else to wear though (he’s a little head-strong and independent!) My favorite is when he comes out in shorts and cowboy boots, wanting to wear them to church!

    Thanks so much for your comment and for stopping by!
    Blessings,
    Janet

  2. P.S. Cynthia: That was a good idea about establishing with him that he can pick out the play clothes, but I pick out the church clothes. I like that, and I plan to try that! Thanks!

  3. Hey There Janet,
    Kerry looked so handsome this past Sunday
    Morning. A little gentleman!
    Matthew prefers to dress himself these days too. He
    always insists, every Sunday, to wear this suit that is
    too small on him. I’ve finally had to put it away ……….
    The “out of sight” theory? lol (didn’t work) lol
    Blessings in Him,
    Regina.

    Thanks, Regina! Yeah, often, people would never guess what it took to get him dressed and there at church!

    Little Kerry wants to hang on to clothes that are too small for him too, and he gets upset when I clean out his clothes in order to give away the ones he’s outgrown!

  4. Yes, Janet. It does get better. My son is 12 and knows how to tie his own tie and usually asks me, my husband or his sister if his tie matches with what he is wearing. I can certainly relate though to those days of rushing around trying to get everyone ready. 🙂

    Bless you, Carol! Thank you so much for letting me know that it does get better!!

Leave a Reply

