Many Want To Be Heard…

…but there’s only One we really need to listen to! There’s a song by Casting Crowns that I’ve heard many, many times, but lately it’s truly ministered to me in a major way. God’s been dealing with my heart on a particular issue concerning letting others affect me too much (their opinions, words, agendas, plans, etc.). You see, there’s always someone trying to tell me:

–what to focus on,

–what should be my priority,

–how I should spend my time,

–where I should spend my money,

–how I should look,

–how I can be a good mother,

–how I can be a “good” Christian and church-goer, etc., etc., etc.

Between the voices of:

–“well-meaning” people

not so “well-meaning” people

–advertisements, commercials, TV programs, etc.

–my own inner “voice” of expectations, “should’s,” desire to please others, etc.

–the devil’s taunting, tempting, scare tactics, guilt trips, condemnation, etc.

Things can get a little confusing…His voice can get lost. When this happens, all I “hear” is messages like:

–“You’ll never measure up.”

–“You’re a failure.”

–“You can’t do it.”

–“Things will never get better.”

–“It’s no use…so you might as well give up!”

However, when I manage to ignore all the wrong “voices” and messages, the “Voice of Truth” tells me:

–“Do not be afraid.”

–“You can do all things with my strength.”

–“You will never be alone.”

–“You are loved and forgiven.

–“You will have victory in the end.”

–“Press on and never give up!”

________________________________________

Voice of Truth

By: Casting Crowns

Oh, what I would do to have
the kind of faith it takes
To climb out of this boat I’m in
Onto the crashing waves
To step out of my comfort zone
Into the realm of the unknown
Where Jesus is,
And he’s holding out his hand

But the waves are calling out my name
and they laugh at me
Reminding me of all the times
I’ve tried before and failed
The giants they keep on telling me
time and time again
“Boy, you’ll never win,
you’ll never win.”

But the voice of truth tells me a different story
the voice of truth says “Do not be afraid!”
and the voice of truth says “This is for my glory”
Out of all the voices calling out to me
I will choose to listen and believe the voice of truth.

Oh, what I would do
to have the kind of strength it takes
To stand before a giant
with just a sling and a stone
Surrounded by the sound
of a thousand warriors
shaking in their armor
Wishing they’d have had the strength to stand.

But the giant’s calling out
my name and he laughs at me
Reminding me of all the times
I’ve tried before and failed
The giant keeps on telling me
time and time again
“Boy you’ll never win,
you’ll never win.”

But the voice of truth tells me a different story
the voice of truth says “Do not be afraid!”
and the voice of truth says “This is for my glory”
Out of all the voices calling out to me
I will choose to listen and believe the voice of truth

But the stone was just the right size
to put the giant on the ground
and the waves they don’t seem so high
from on top of them looking down
I will soar with the wings of eagles
when I stop and listen to the sound of Jesus
singing over me…

But the voice of truth tells me a different story
The voice of truth says “Do not be afraid.”
And the voice of truth says “This is for my glory.”
Out of all the voices calling out to me (calling out to me)
I will choose to listen and believe (I will choose to listen and believe)
I will choose to listen and believe the voice of truth

I will listen and believe
I will listen and believe the voice of truth
I will listen and believe
‘Cause Jesus you are the voice of truth
And I will listen to you.. oh you are

________________________________________

**Note: You may listen to this song here.

5 Responses

  1. I love that song… thanks for the reminder!

    -cs
    http://chrisschellenberg.com/

    Hi Chris! Thanks for stopping by! Blessings, Janet

  2. This is such a great song and has helped me to remember there is only one “Voice of Truth”. Thanks for posting this… it is a great reminder.

    Hey Melanie! I’m a lot better than I used to be about not letting other’s opinions get to me, but naturally, every once in a while, I see myself getting “caught up” in worrying again about the “voice of man.” I’ve learned to keep trying to push aside society’s ideas about looks, materialism, education, etc. However, the one thing that I still struggle with the most is “people pleasing,” when it comes to not wanting to let others down, hurt their feelings, etc. Often, I feel the pressure of other Christians wanting me to be involved with more activities, when that may not necessarily be what God wants me to do!

    While at the same time, there are things that God calls me to do, that others may not understand at all. They may think and/or say, “Why would you want to do that?!” Their reasoning might be things like:

    –That’s too much work.
    –That sounds miserable.
    –What about making yourself happy?
    –You will get hurt (physically, emotionally, etc.).
    –You’ll never accomplish that!
    –That doesn’t even make “sense!” (Things of God often don’t make sense to people!)

    _________________________________

    However, I’m just seeking more and more to follow Jesus and to please Him! He is the One who made the ultimate sacrifice for me, and He is the One, whom I will answer to some sweet day!

    Blessings to you, Melanie!
    Love in Christ,
    Janet

  3. It’s true. But the closer you get to God in prayer and the study of His Word, the more attuned to His will (not man’s opinion) you will become.

    I highly recommend listening to a sermon by Paul Washer that can only be referred to as “shocking.” You can download it here:
    http://defendingcontending.com/2007/10/01/paul-washer-shocking-sermon/

    You can also watch the same sermon on video here:
    http://defendingcontending.com/2007/08/30/paul-washers-shocking-sermon-shocking-only-because-its-so-rare-to-hear-in-america/

    I wish that every Christian could listen to this sermon, it will do one of two things: Either break you to surrender to God, or harden your heart just a little bit more. Either way, you cannot listen to it and not be changed.

    Sincerely,
    – The Pilgrim
    of http://www.DefendingContending.com

    To “The Pilgrim”:

    Thanks for your comment and for stopping by! I agree that the closer we get to God through prayer and His Word, the more attuned we will be to Him and His will. In fact, as I am trying to surrender my life and will to Him more each day, I am recognizing how He is trying to “break down” the lies, traps, and strongholds of the devil and this world!

    Even within the “Christian community,” and even when we are “seemingly” being “good Christians” on the outside, our hearts, attitudes, and minds can still be far from Him! This is not the “brand of Christianity” that I want! I truly seek to be more like Him! However, of course, as I seek this, I am called to make more and more unpopular, radical decisions and choices to be “set apart.” God is calling me to be more bold and confident in Him…and of course the timid, natural part of me is in opposition! The “people pleaser” in me is also not happy at all! I don’t like to “step on people’s toes,” make them feel uncomfortable, hurt people’s feelings, “let people down,” etc.

    However, just as I don’t like to make my children cry or be upset, if I truly love them, I must disciple them! Also, I don’t like for friends or family to get mad at me. Although, when one asks for Godly counsel, once I’ve prayed and sought God, I must tell them the truth (in LOVE!). I cannot, in good conscience, just tell them what they want to hear (of course, I have already lost a couple of “friends” this way!)

    I also can’t just sign up for every activity that each person thinks is absolutely the most important or let myself be “guilted” into things! I know the Lord is trying to get this through my head!
    He must come first, including His calling, goals, and purposes for me. Even things that seem good and worthwhile can be in opposition to Him if they take away from my time with Him, my family, and/or the jobs He has already given me!

    Anyway, lately, God has really been challenging my (and other’s) ideas of “being nice” and “being a good Christian.” I have to admit, it’s a little scary, but I am trying to step out in faith and keep trusting in Him! I know that I can do nothing apart from Him!

    Blessings to you!
    In Christ,
    Janet

  4. My favorite Casting Crown song too! The story Mark tells about writing is powerful too!

    Hey Tracy, where did you hear or read Mark’s story about writing it? Was that on the CD cover or something? I’ll be looking for that.

  5. He told the story before singing it at the first concert I saw him at….There are some stories on the “From the Altar to the Door” DVD. Our came with our Cd when we bought it!?

    Hey Tracy, that’s great that Mark told the story at his concert. I actually haven’t had the privilege to see them in concert yet. However, I did some research online yesterday, and I found some info. at the Casting Crowns website, and I also found his book which goes into detail about many of the stories behind the songs.

Leave a Reply

