Mother’s Day: A Little Of This…

…And A Little Of That.

_______________________________________

My daughter Sarah wrote this poem for me (and shared it with me this morning):

Roses are red.

Violets are blue.

I am pretty,

and so are you!

Roses are red.

Violets are blue.

God loves me,

and God loves you too!

________________________________________

At church this morning, Wanda (the Youth Director) had all the youth to stand in front of the congregation, while she shared some things they had written about their moms. Wanda and other youth helpers had previously gotten the kids to fill in some sentences to describe their mothers. Many of the responses were quite humorous! As soon as Wanda had gone down the line of children and had reached my two, I have to admit I was a little nervous, especially as she approached little Kerry!

The following are their responses (they’re not too bad, but they are kind of cute!): (The underlined, blue words are their responses).

__________________________________________________________

My Special Mother

My mother is the most wonderful Mom in the world!

She is as pretty as:

leaves.

She weighs: 30 pounds.

And she is 10 feet tall.

I think Mom looks funny when she:

laughs.

My mom is so smart! She even knows:

how to cook.

I like it when my mom:

reads me a story.

I wouldn’t trade my mom for:

anything.

Love,

Sarah

2008

___________________________________________________________

My Special Mother

My mother is the most wonderful Mom in the world!

She is as pretty as:

a rose.

She weighs: 16 pounds.

And she is 6 feet tall.

I think Mom looks funny when she:

married my Daddy with short hair.

My mom is so smart! She even knows:

how to drive (and get tickets!).

I like it when my mom:

sits with me.

I wouldn’t trade my mom for:

toys.

Love,

Kerry

2008

___________________________________________________________________________________________________

This morning at church, Kristen sang “Handful of Weeds” for Mother’s Day. I love this song by Sheri Easter; especially the line that says, “…She deserves an armful of roses, but she’s satisfied with a handful of weeds.” I can’t help but think about all the times one of my kids has happily handed me a bouquet of freshly picked dandelions! Oh, what a blessing!!–That precious smile on each child’s face and the knowledge that each wanted to give me something beautiful!

Happy Mother’s Day!

2 Responses

  1. Hi Janet,

    According to your kids height and weight estimations, I would say that you have a severe case of anoxeria. 🙂 j/k No really, those are some cute answers, and I would save them and put them in a scrapbook. Cherish these days when your kids are little, because they will go by so fast. Anyhow, Happy Belated Mother’s Day. It sounds like you had a good one.

  2. I was wondering how many would notice those interesting dimensions!
    I LOVE how TALL the kids “see” me…it’s all in perspective, huh?

Leave a Reply

