Where Am I…

…and how did I get here?!

_______________________________________

Well, I guess I’ve finally concluded and admitted that I’ve once again entered the “wilderness.” Somehow, I thought I could avoid this lonely, bleak territory, but I suppose that’s neither possible nor helpful. Nope…I don’t relish the idea of returning to this wilderness experience, but trying to avoid it, deny it, or run from it sure doesn’t help or work. In fact, even though I don’t see the reason for it, God knows the purpose, and He has a desired outcome. Not only can He bring good out of tragedy and sunshine after rain, but He can also make use of these dry spells. Any of these various experiences in life can draw us closer to God…if we let them.

Today, there’s a couple of tunes playing in my mind, as I consider this moment in time. (I’m calling this a “moment in time,” because no matter how long it lasts, it won’t last forever. Even our entire lifetime is but a vapor.) The first is a simple little chorus I used to sing as a child at church. I haven’t heard it in decades. However, today, this sweet, little song has come to my mind and heart many times…

________________________________________

Last of the Sheep

My Lord knows the way through the wilderness.

All I have to do is follow.

My Lord knows the way through the wilderness.

All I have to do is follow.

Strength for today is mine all the way, and all I need for tomorrow.

My Lord knows the way through the wilderness. All I have to do is follow.

(© Sidney Cox, 1951. )

________________________________________

The other song that goes along with the first is an old familiar hymn called “Trust and Obey.” Alas, I am a sheep…wandering around in confusing territory again. However, I do not have to go astray, and I am not truly lost. The shepherd is here with me…He knows the way. All I have to do is keep the faith, follow, and obey, and He will lead me out.

__________________________________________

lost_lamb_parson

Trust and Obey

By: John H. Sammis, 1887

  1. When we walk with the Lord in the light of His Word,
    What a glory He sheds on our way!
    While we do His good will, He abides with us still,
    And with all who will trust and obey.

    • Refrain:
      Trust and obey, for there’s no other way
      To be happy in Jesus, but to trust and obey.
  2. Not a shadow can rise, not a cloud in the skies,
    But His smile quickly drives it away;
    Not a doubt or a fear, not a sigh or a tear,
    Can abide while we trust and obey.
  3. Not a burden we bear, not a sorrow we share,
    But our toil He doth richly repay;
    Not a grief or a loss, not a frown or a cross,
    But is blessed if we trust and obey.
  4. But we never can prove the delights of His love
    Until all on the altar we lay;
    For the favor He shows, for the joy He bestows,
    Are for them who will trust and obey.
  5. Then in fellowship sweet we will sit at His feet,
    Or we’ll walk by His side in the way;
    What He says we will do, where He sends we will go;
    Never fear, only trust and obey.

________________________________________

**I found the above hymn here.

________________________________________

“He shall feed his flock like a shepherd: he shall gather the lambs with his arm, and carry them in his bosom, and shall gently lead those that are with young.” –Isaiah 40:11

2 Responses

  1. […] See last post: Where Am I? Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Warrandyte, VIC, Australia: Open FieldWarrandyte, […]

  2. I would like to get the sheed music to the hymn “My Lord knows the way through the wilderness.” Do you know how I can order this?

Leave a Reply

