Seven Years

…of Sarah Beth! Like my mother-in-law often asks, “Just what did you do before having children?” In a way, I do feel like my life really began after having my kiddos. My children have certainly added such joy and depth to my life…and they have introduced me to a totally different way of living. My life has never been the same since, and it is truly changed forever…

Yes, tomorrow, my Sarah will be 7 yrs. old. In a way, I’ve felt every minute of the last several years, while at the same time, it has gone by soooo very fast! (Yeah, I don’t understand that either!) When I ponder these years with Sarah, I can’t help but think back to that very first night…

Sarah was born at 4:01 p.m. on July 23rd, 2001. I remember being so excited to finally get some time alone with my new baby girl…just she and I and some quality bonding time. That night, sitting there holding my baby close, I was so inexplicably full of joy! I felt like I could just hold her forever. In fact, I didn’t particularly like it when the nurses came to take her back to the nursery. They told me that I needed to get some rest, and they would bring her back to me in a couple of hours. However, it wasn’t long before I was calling them back asking for Sarah. This went on all night…the nurses would come to take her, and before the allotted time was up, I was calling them again. Even though I was thoroughly exhausted, I was just too excited to sleep (yes, I have learned since that night that sleep is very important and almost sacred! ;-) ) A while back I told Sarah about that first night, and she has asked me several times since to share it again.

_________________________________________

When I think of Sarah, I also can’t help but think about the following saying: “A stranger is a friend you just haven’t met yet!” You see, truly, I am not exaggerating when I state that Sarah makes a friend EVERYWHERE we go! In fact, a couple of the friends whom Kerry and I have made are really due to Sarah’s friendliness with others! As a Christian, who believes that my family and I need to share the good news with others, I have also been surprised at what a witness Sarah is to people. (I remember thinking “How will I be able to share Christ with others, while I’m just here at home?“) Well, Sarah talks to people at the grocery store, the park, the dollar store, the library, the pet shop, McDonald’s, Burger King, etc., etc., etc. Without even trying to, Sarah just ends up sharing the Lord with people. She talks about the Lord and church, she invites people to church, she sings about God…

Sarah also just has a natural charisma and joy that she can’t help but show. She truly cares deeply about other people. She can be quite empathic and understanding. Sarah is also quite honest with people, and she tells things “like it is.”

I just love to watch how she draws others out of their shells. I’ll see other kids acting very shy and timid, and at first are often very “taken aback” and overwhelmed by Sarah. However, usually, it isn’t long before she manages to put other kids at ease and have them playing with her like they’ve known her forever!

I suppose it’s definitely no secret that I dearly love and cherish my little girl. I admire her too…things that I see in her that I would love to develop in myself! Of course, I know I’m especially partial, and I don’t mean to just be going on and on about my child. Sarah isn’t perfect, but she is a wonderful blessing from the Lord, and I thank God for her and for both of my children.

__________________________________________

To my Sarah Beth I just want to say:

I love you soooo very much! Happy Birthday, Sarah Beth!!!

__________________________________________

I dedicate the following song to Sarah. This song is appropriately entitled Seven Years. Every time I hear this song, I picture Sarah. Even though she’s not often alone (as the song mentions)…from time to time, she does go out in the backyard by herself. She is like our “Backyard Evangelist and Praise and Worship Leader!” Believe me, she serenades half the neighborhood, but not a single person has ever complained! -D

_________________________________________

“Seven Years”

By: Norah Jones

Spinning, laughing, dancing to
her favorite song
A little girl with nothing wrong
Is all alone

Eyes wide open
Always hoping for the sun
And she’ll sing her song to anyone
that comes along

Fragile as a leaf in autumn
Just fallin’ to the ground
Without a sound

Crooked little smile on her face
Tells a tale of grace
That’s all her own

Spinning, laughing, dancing to her favorite song
A little girl with nothing wrong
And she’s all alone

___________________________________________

**Please listen to the above song here.

**Update: Please note that the above link is not to the best recording, sound mix, etc. This song of Norah’s is of course much clearer and balanced on her C.D.

___________________________________________

7 Responses

  1. Dear Janet,
    This entry was so heart warmlng. I can relate to that
    first night in the hospital after giving birth to Matthew.
    The nurses wouldn’t leave him to me either.
    But as I read this blog entry about Sarah, & also listened to the song in which you dedicated to her,
    I’m so thankful that I know her too. She is so full of
    the love of God. She is going to be a great testimony
    to the Lord. She has already started! Bless her heart!
    Have a great day in the Lord today.
    Regina.

  2. Thanks so much, Regina! I wanted this post to be heart-warming…to express to others that my children are such precious gifts from God! I’m glad that you could relate to that first night with your own child.

    Blessings, Janet

  3. Happy Birthday to Sarah! While I don’t really know her, she sounds like a wonderful litttle girl. May God continue to bless you with many more happy years with both your children.

    Thanks, Carol! I shared this message with Sarah. Blessings, Janet

  4. HAPPY BIRTHDAY SARAH
    BEST OF WISHES ON YOUR DAY!

    Love N Christ
    Sue

    Thanks so much Sue! I shared your message with Sarah. Blessings, Janet

  5. Janet…I am home briefly and am catching up on emails….Your tribute to Sarah was heart- warming and I was touched by your recognition that both Sarah and you want to serve where you are! You are at this place in time and you are serving! Sarah looks like a sweet girl and it is easy to see you know you are blessed with your children. Thanks for sharing…!

    Bev, It was so AWESOME getting this comment from you! What you stated means a lot to me. Blessings always, Love, Janet

    P.S. We’ll have to catch up on your adventures!

  6. Oh she sounds like a jewel! You are truly blessed! Happy belated Birthday to your precious Sarah!

    Thanks, Gina!

  7. […] **To learn more about my Sarah Beth, visit this post from her last b-day: “Seven Years” […]

Leave a Reply

