Fount of Blessings

Come, Thou Fount of Every Blessing

By: Robert Robinson, 1758

Come, Thou Fount of every blessing,
Tune my heart to sing Thy grace;
Streams of mercy, never ceasing,
Call for songs of loudest praise.
Teach me some melodious sonnet,
Sung by flaming tongues above.
Praise the mount! I’m fixed upon it,
Mount of Thy redeeming love.

Sorrowing I shall be in spirit,
Till released from flesh and sin,
Yet from what I do inherit,
Here Thy praises I’ll begin;
Here I raise my Ebenezer;
Here by Thy great help I’ve come;
And I hope, by Thy good pleasure,
Safely to arrive at home.

Jesus sought me when a stranger,
Wandering from the fold of God;
He, to rescue me from danger,
Interposed His precious blood;
How His kindness yet pursues me
Mortal tongue can never tell,
Clothed in flesh, till death shall loose me
I cannot proclaim it well.

O to grace how great a debtor
Daily I’m constrained to be!
Let Thy goodness, like a fetter,
Bind my wandering heart to Thee.
Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it,
Prone to leave the God I love;
Here’s my heart, O take and seal it,
Seal it for Thy courts above.

O that day when freed from sinning,
I shall see Thy lovely face;
Clothed then in blood washed linen
How I’ll sing Thy sovereign grace;
Come, my Lord, no longer tarry,
Take my ransomed soul away;
Send thine angels now to carry
Me to realms of endless day.

__________________________________________________________

I’m Thankful For:

–The sacrificial love of Christ, His forgiveness, and His grace as described in the song above. I thank Him for His daily “fount of blessings.” I’ve thought of the above hymn many times in the past couple of weeks. {I especially identify with the verse I’ve placed in bold. I love how He gently and lovingly nudges me along when I start to wander (as the human heart is prone to do, like the verse states).}

–The wisdom, discernment, insights, and revelations that the Holy Spirit has shared with me this past week.

–The family gatherings we had this past Sat. and Sun.

–The open discussion we had at church this past Sun. night.

–The gift of God’s Holy Word. (I like the quote by Dwight Moody about the Bible that Pastor Jim recently shared with our church…”This book will keep you from sin, and sin will keep you from this book.”)

–The gift of prayer and knowing that God hears and answers prayer.

–The strength that the Holy Spirit gives me and the “peace that passeth all understanding.” (I love the scripture –2 Cor. 4:8-9 and the song Trading My Sorrows that goes along with it. )

–Photographs and memories…Oh, how precious they are.

–My new teenage S.S. class and what they’re teaching me.

–My family and what my kids teach me each and every day about life.

–Cousins, friends, and neighbors for the kiddos to play with and enjoy.

–My husband Scott going to work for our family every day during the week. I’m thankful for his providing for us and for his guidance, leadership, and love.

–Some relief from the bad headaches, neck pain, and ear pain.

_________________________________________________________

**For more Thankful Thursday posts and participants, please visit Iris @ Sting My Heart.

__________________________________________________________

**Above lyrics were found here.

6 Responses

  1. I am so grateful for HIS forgiveness also! Great thankful post today. It is amazing what kids can teach us, hard to believe, but really amazing. hahaha If we just let ourselves learn from them we could really learn lots. Thanks for the thought. God Bless~

    Hi Cheryl,

    Yes, one of these days I’m going to write a post about the many lessons I’ve learned from my kids and motherhood. You’re right…we can learn lots from them when we just let ourselves!

    Blessings,
    Janet

  2. I love this song. Thanks for sharing it. I am thankful to God too for His daily “fount of blessings.” I am praying for you that God will continue to restore you. You have such a thankful heart and great thankful list. It is encouraging to read your post. Thanks for sharing your thankful heart with us. Take care and God bless.

    Thanks so much for your comment, Nancie. I’ve been meaning to share this hymn for a while, and it really seemed to go along with my thankful post this week.

    Blessings, Janet

  3. A lovely thankful post. Family gatherings are always a wonderful blessing. Remain blessed!

    Thanks and blessings to you!

  4. Blessings to you for sharing such a lovely thankful post.

    Thanks, Denise! Blessings to you, always!

  5. Hi,
    Just wanted to invite you over to my new home if I haven’t already, to share my stories of what God has done in my life. Someone called me a spammer, I guess I could be called that. Spamming for Jesus… http://www.drunkdreamer8.com
    C.Apana

    Hey, I briefly checked out your blog, and I liked what I saw. I’ll have to stop by again later for a closer look. Thanks for stopping by mine! Blessings, Janet

  6. […] Kim @ An Artful Life97. Chandy @ Out Standing in My Field98. bvoylesal@aol.com99. Cheryl100. Janet @ Daily Provision101. Nessa @ Ramblings of a TX Housewife102. alihsee103. HisFireFly104. godschild105. Edie106. In […]

Leave a Reply

