What I Need Most

Well, as usual, I find what I need most is a good quiet time with the Lord (see previous post). Today, the key verse in “Our Daily Bread” says:

“Walk circumspectly, not as fools but as wise, redeeming the time, because the days are evil.” —Ephesians 5:15-16

The ending caption reads:

When you find time on your hands, put them together in prayer.

____________________________________

Well, not that I often have a lot of time on my hands. It seems there’s always plenty I could be doing. However, the last couple of mornings, the kids have slept in a little later since it’s turned colder. They must have slept especially well last night…all snug in their warm, little beds. This morning, once they got up, they actually dressed promptly. Before long, Sarah was bundled up in a coat, hat, and gloves and asking if she and Kerry could go outside. [ O.k., how could I argue with that?! I wasn’t moving too fast this morning, and I certainly don’t get much quiet time to myself nowadays! Besides, that IS one of the major perks of homeschooling…having a flexible schedule! ]

Anyway, with this “extra time on my hands,” how would I spend it? Was sitting down to reading the Bible the FIRST thing I did? Well, quite honestly…”No,” but that’s what I always NEED to do foremost! You know, it’s quite often a great indicator when we don’t feel like opening God’s Word…Well, that’s when we definitely need to more than ever!! [ Why should we EVER go by feelings anyway? I mean, talk about fickle, unreliable, and deceiving!! ]

With the mood I woke up in this morning, what better message could I have read? What better use of time is there than spending time in God’s Word and prayer? Yes, my friend, the flesh is still weak, but HE is strong. When we feel we don’t have the strength to face the day, we haven’t yet tapped into our greatest source of strength!

Wait and, in waiting, listen for His leading;

Be strong, thy strength for every day is stored.

Go forth in faith, and let thine heart take courage;

There is no disappointment with the Lord. –Anon.

____________________________________

**To read today’s devotional from “Our Daily Bread” in its entirety, you may click here.

6 Responses

  1. Oh Janet, I hear you on this post. There are some days when I feel I have just got to get a way from it all and if I can just get alone with the Lord then I know everything will be alright.

    Thanks for the scriptures and the post. It was just what I needed. God Bless!

    Jolene, I sure do appreciate your comment. It helps to know others understand. Also, it encourages me…when I share something that encourages someone else!

  2. This is timely post for me, as I’ve been trying to convince myself that I need to take time for quiet time. Thanks.

  3. Thanks for letting me know that, B.J.! I love how God works like that. Many times, He’s led me to the posts of others that were also very timely!

  4. P.S. B.J., I took a quick look at “Christian Bloggers Unite” also. I look forward to re-visiting…glad I found your site.

  5. Wow… that is a message I really needed today…

    I found your blog on LWG Blogroll as I’m looking to connect with other Christian women in the blog world…

    Off to read more of your blog…

    Thanks so much for sharing that, Meredith. You see, the last couple of months, I’ve just about quit blogging…my posts have dwindled tremendously. Many times I’ve thought that I’m just so busy, and that I’m not sure if what I write really means much to others…blah, blah, blah. However, you’re the 3rd person today to let me know that this post was what you needed. What also strikes me about it was that this post meant something to others because it began with the right focus (on God and His Word).

    So, I thank you (and the 2 other people who commented) for sending me the message from Him that I needed reiterated!

    Blessings, Janet

    P.S. I’m also having a renewed interest in connecting “with other Christian women in the blogging world.” I hadn’t realized how important that’s been to me in the last year and a half or so and how much I would miss it! …Yet another reason to keep blogging!

  6. Janet, never quit blogging. I too, once considered quitting but then I went to a fellowship meeting and so many people told me how much they enjoyed reading what I post and how much they are blessed and inspired by what I have to say. These people never leave any comments yet they visit my site often and I never knew this until I run into them at these functions. So though people don’t leave comments, they are still reading and gleaning from what you post.

    Keep writing from your heart and blessing others even if you don’t get any comments in return. Somewhere out there you are touching hearts that need to be lifted.

    God Bless
    Jolene

    God Bless You, Jolene! I appreciate your message so very much. Even though I may need to have limits on my computer time, this does not mean I have to totally give up on blogging! If something I write can encourage someone else, it’s definitely worth it!

Leave a Reply

