The God Who Holds The Universe…

…is the God who is holding you.

____________________________________

“What man of you, having an hundred sheep, if he lose one of them, doth not leave the ninety and nine in the wilderness, and go after that which is lost, until he find it? And when he hath found it, he layeth it on his shoulders, rejoicing.” —Luke 15:4-5

“He shall dwell between His shoulders.” —Deuteronomy 33:12

____________________________________

Last week, I was getting frustrated with myself that I wasn’t more productive. I had so many things I needed and wanted to get done, but I just couldn’t seem to muster up the energy. Of course, after a couple of days, I realized that I had been “fighting” getting sick, and I finally lost that battle. I was sick with a stomach virus and a cold virus there for 2-3 days. I’ll spare you any more details than that.

Well, I was starting to feel soooo run-down physically, that I wasn’t up to doing much of anything. However, I realized that I could NOT ignore the spiritual side. I’ve actually become aware that when I’m down spiritually, everything else starts to fall apart too! You see, when my soul is neglected, I’m bound to become physically ill. When I don’t spend time alone with my Lord, I begin to worry about things again. Then, the stresses of life easily overtake me and quickly take a toll on my body.

Of course, not only does spiritual malnutrition affect me physically, it also affects me mentally and emotionally. Without the constant loving guidance of God’s Word, I’m an easy target for the enemy’s lies. It only becomes that much harder to avoid succumbing to the devil’s taunts, ridicule, and tricks.

_____________________________________

You know, as Christians, we’re on a journey…one that can be perilous and treacherous at times. Often our vision gets hazy, and we can’t see the way. The surroundings are rugged and cruel. With the heavy fog, we can only see the big, scary obstacles right in front of us. We’re not able to see any way around them…They seem unsurmountable.

Each morning, as we set out on the road of life once more, we MUST check in with our “Tour Guide.” He knows the territory…His vision is always clear. Our Guide is also very mighty…He will go before us and be our protector. The “obstacles” are nothing to Him…”mountains” are merely ant hills. Furthermore, He’s not intimidated by or subject in any way to any foe who seeks to harm us or lure us off the right path. He knows the road better than anyone and will never be sidetracked by deceptive bypasses that look like short-cuts.

____________________________________

Yes, like a little child must cling to his mother when crossing a busy, dangerous street…We must always hold on to our Savior. We must stay close to Him at all times. Sometimes on this difficult journey, He will even have to carry us. However, we need not worry, because His strength will never run out.

Not only does He know how small the obstacles really are (with His help), but He also knows all the many joys that lie ahead, along the way. No matter how hard this road of life may seem at times, there’s always more good times ahead as well. In fact, if we stay close to Him, we can find joy all along the way, even in the “midst of the storms.”

Of course, the greatest rejoicing comes at the journey’s end…a time at which we will definitely know it was all worth it!! We will spend our days praising our Savior forevermore…the One who led us safely Home.

____________________________________

Ask the Savior to help you,
Comfort, strengthen, and keep you;
He is willing to aid you—
He will carry you through. —Palmer

____________________________________

**This devotional was inspired by “Our Daily Bread,” and you may also read it here.

Leave a Reply

