Changes for Next Year

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” Jeremiah 29:11-13

__________________________________

Usually around this time of year, I get all gung-ho and psyched about my plans for change. However, this go around, I’m just way too exhausted for all that (physically, emotionally, and mentally). So, what’s the good news? Well, since I’m already so drained, I simply cannot waste energy “spinning my wheels.” I need not try to get all hyped and pumped up about a dozen things…that I want to drastically change over night!! (Of course, that’s not such an effective approach anyway, huh?! ;-) )

However, I sense the Lord telling me that changes will come this new year…but not because of any personal pep rally concerning New Year’s Resolutions!! No, God has some changes that He wants to take place, but in His timing and in His way. I also realize that this new year, I’m not going to be focused on being BUSY, but instead on being fruitful and productive. (There IS a difference…In fact, it makes all the difference in the world!!)

Well, I don’t pretend to know what next year holds. I don’t have it all figured out. No elaborate plans. Can’t say I don’t even have some concerns, but I do know one thing. I don’t hold the future…God does…and that’s a good thing!

_______________________________

Well, I’m home alone, and I’m off to grab my guitar. There’s a song I feel the need to sing. It’s called “I Know Who Holds Tomorrow.

_______________________________

HAPPY NEW YEAR!! -D

I pray you have a year of true peace and joy!

4 Responses

  1. Oh yes, great post, I too am going to be looking for God to show up and change somethings. The past year was full of waiting and growth and now I am really ready for God to start moving me in the directions that He wants. God bless you, and I will add you to my blogroll. May you have a safe and blessed New Year. Robin

  2. Hi Janet,

    Just dropping by to wish you a Happy New Year! I thank God too, that He is the One who holds the future.

  3. I do thank Him often that He holds my tomorrow. I am a coward because I had not asked Him to show me that tomorrow.
    The very best of tomorrow to you and yours!

    Mervi

Leave a Reply

