Attitude of Gratitude

One of the beneficial things I haven’t done in quite a while is Thankful Thursday. To me, it really is helpful to set aside special time to remember and record my thankful list each week. When I’m planning for a weekly thankful post, it makes me more mindful of the many blessings I constantly receive.

Well, I know it’s not technically Thursday, but it’s my thankful list nonetheless. (I was gone almost all day yesterday). Anyway, below are just a few of the many things I have to be thankful for. I realize that my attitude had gotten a little off kilter lately, but that can be easily remedied. It doesn’t take long to discover numerous blessings when we just take a look around. Then, it’s not that hard to have an “attitude of gratitude,” when we consider all that our Lord has given us and done for us!!

________________________________

“Enter into his gates with thanksgiving, and into his courts with praise: be thankful unto him, and bless his name. For the LORD is good; his mercy is everlasting; and his truth endureth to all generations.”Psalms 100:4-5

_____________________________________

I am thankful for:

–honest, good people…They do still exist, though the enemy would have us believe otherwise. I was in the McDonald’s the other day, and I left my wallet in the bathroom. A lady took it to the cashiers up front and let them know whose she thought it might be (she pointed out my table and said she thought it was either mine or my friend’s. Together, two of the cashiers looked in my wallet just enough to find my I.D. right in front, and then they returned it to me. I hadn’t even missed it yet…didn’t even know it was gone. When it was returned to me, my cards remained untouched, and not as much as a red cent was missing!

–good, true friends. Recently, I’ve been reminded of just how vital good friends can be to our well-being. I have been through some major struggles in the past couple of months. I am so thankful for the loving and thoughtful ways that others have showed they cared and have tried to help and encourage me. Even the “little” acts of kindness have meant so very much to me.

–God’s everlasting love, and I’m amazed with His patience. -)

–medical knowledge, doctors, medications…However, I’m most thankful for God’s discernment and wisdom.

–the life God has blessed me with…family, friends, church, community…

–a good, enjoyable, and productive day yesterday (for a couple of months, it hadn’t seemed like I’ve had too many of those.) Perhaps I’ll remember to be more thankful when I do! -)

–a new year…and a new hope.


10 Responses

  1. Yes, I know for me I have been trying to start my day with an attitude of gratitude, even before I enter into my daily devotions, I just commune with Him, thanking Him for everything. Great Post!!!!!!

  2. Welcome back, such a nice list.

  3. Hi there! I was just doing a little browsing thru the Laced with Grace blog roll, and landed here!

    I love your thankful Thusday list!
    How, true! I am thankful for all of God’s goodness too… one that struck out to me on your list is:

    –medical knowledge, doctors, medications…However, I’m most thankful for God’s discernment and wisdom.

    It was nice ‘meeting you’ ! I keep 2 blogs; one personal and the other for homeschooling. Maybe I’ll see ya’ around :O)

    God bless to you and yours,
    Deanna

    • Hi Deanna, Nice meeting you as well. Thanks so much for your comment. I took a quick look at your blog…I’ll be coming back for more and longer visits later! Blessings, Janet

  4. oops! I realized I left a part of my website address out in my previous post when asked to fill in my personal info before commenting!!! this will go the job now :O)

    blessings!

  5. Great post! We must walk in forgiveness and thankfulness.
    I am happy that I found another blogger that looks to give God glory.

    Be Blessed!

    • Hi Chip, Yes, we can’t really live the life God’s called us to if we don’t even know how to be thankful!

      I appreciate your comment, and I’m glad you stopped by. Blessings, Janet

  6. Hi Janet. I enjoyed your thankful list. It always does us good to count our blessings.

Leave a Reply

