The Blessings of Hymns…

…and so much more…There are just so many daily blessings God bestows on each of us!

________________________________

Last Sunday morning, I felt a joy I hadn’t felt in a while. It was wonderful!! I wanted to get up. I was excited about the new day. I wanted to go to church and sing hymns. In fact, a couple of hymns had been playing in my mind all morning, and they were such a blessing to me…

________________________________

I just keep thinking about the words and what they mean to me, and I’m so thankful to God. If any of you have ever dealt with severe depression, hopefully, you also know the incredible relief and joy of seeing the clouds of despair float away (or at least part for a while). To me, it is a miracle…something I cannot do on my own…

________________________________

At Calvary

Words: William R. Newell, 1895. Music: Daniel B. Towner

Years I spent in vanity and pride,
Caring not my Lord was crucified,
Knowing not it was for me He died on Calvary.

Refrain

Mercy there was great, and grace was free;
Pardon there was multiplied to me;
There my burdened soul found liberty at Calvary.

By God’s Word at last my sin I learned;
Then I trembled at the law I’d spurned,
Till my guilty soul imploring turned to Calvary.

Refrain

Now I’ve given to Jesus everything,
Now I gladly own Him as my King,
Now my raptured soul can only sing of Calvary!

Refrain

Oh, the love that drew salvation’s plan!
Oh, the grace that brought it down to man!
Oh, the mighty gulf that God did span at Calvary!

_____________________________________

**Note: I found the above hymn here.

_____________________________________

Have Faith In God

By: B.B. McKinney, 1934

Have faith in God when your pathway is lonely.
He sees and knows all the way you have trod;
Never alone are the least of His children;
Have faith in God, have faith in God.

Have faith in God when your prayers are unanswered,
Your earnest plea He will never forget;
Wait on the lord, trust His word and be patient,
Have faith in God. He’ll answer yet.

Have faith in God in your pain and your sorrow,
His heart is touched with your grief and despair;
Cast all your cares and your burdens upon Him,
And leave them there, oh, leave them there.

Have faith in God though all else fall about you;
Have faith in God, He provides for His own:
He cannot fail though all kingdoms shall perish.
He rules. He reigns upon His throne.

Refrain:

Have faith in God, He’s on His throne,
Have faith in God, He watches over His own;
He cannot fail, He must prevail,
Have faith in God, Have faith in God.

_________________________________

**Note: I found the second hymn here and over here.

_________________________________

**Note and Update: I admit that this Sunday morning was more difficult, but I rejoice that with the Lord’s help, I was still able to press on. (Of course, once I went on to church, I felt better and better.) Yes, I realize that I cannot expect to wake up every morning full of joy and anticipation of the new day. However, for each day, I can say a prayer of thanks and ask for God’s help to move forward.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

“Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on thee: because he trusteth in thee.” –Isaiah 26:3

______________________________________________________________________________________________

2 Responses

  1. I do enjoy the old hymns myself too. I seem to really
    get into those. They are so easy to learn & pick up.
    The Lord puts a song in our hearts, & that’s the old
    sweet hymns! Amen!
    God Bless,
    Regina.

Leave a Reply

