Always Be Prepared…

…for a fight…and don’t be surprised or caught off guard!
__________________________________

Word-Filled Wednesday, 2/25/09

__________________________________

I sure can tell when I’m unprepared to face the day. The day starts to truly wear on me, when I don’t start out by renewing my mind! I can try to go on about my day without spending time in God’s Word, but I need NOT think that the devil takes a holiday! 🙂

Lately, when I’ve started to get frustrated, I’ve caught myself thinking things like:

–Why does this have to happen?
–Why do things have to be SOOOO difficult?
–Why is it so hard stay on track?

Well, it’s not that I’ve just started having these thoughts…it’s more like I’ve become more aware of them. Most importantly, the Lord has been making it clearer to me how very silly these questions really are! It’s not that I should expect the trials to stop coming, but that I need to learn how to handle them better with the Lord’s help! Of course, I cannot improve with this “spiritual warfare” thing, if I go out totally unarmed and unprepared!

I found this cartoon that truly illustrates this point so well. I just love it! It’s another one by Michael Waters, from a few months back. He states:

The Christian life is not a trouble-free life. We should be mentally prepared to face the challenges that we will have to face.
–August 24, 2008

____________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________

**To view more WFW participants, you may visit: http://the160acrewoods.com/

**Also, my daughter, Sarah joined WFW today! Please go by & check out her post too at: http://loveofthecross.wordpress.com/

6 Responses

  1. So true, bless you.

    Hey Denise! Have a great weekend! 🙂

  2. Too cute, and too true! Happy WFW!

    Hey Laurie Ann…Thanks! 🙂

  3. What a perfect cartoon for that verse! Thank you. And thanks for stopping by my blog. I appreciated your thoughts on 1 Peter 4:8.

    Hi Janet R.! Thanks & blessings to you! 🙂

  4. This is a great example of the verse! Thanks for posting, and have a great WFW!

    Thanks, Alexis! Blessings to you! 🙂

  5. We need to hear this. We all face trials. Many of us are hurting at any given moment. Think it not strange… When all is good and we hear a verse about the troubles, we aren’t able to imagine the grip those troubles can get. Till… we’re there. Then God’s Word does come alive in us to meet the needs.

    Thank you.

    Jennifer

    Amen, Jennifer! Yes, I don’t want to dwell on trials, but I also don’t want to be oblivious either! We know there will be good times and bad. I want to be prepared for the bad (not looking for or counting on, but just spiritually ready). While of course, I want to enjoy the good. Blessings to you! 🙂

  6. Love it!! That’s surely a great and fun way to bring God’s word to life!! Happy WFW!!

    Hi Toia! Thanks & blessings to you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

