The Thing With Commitments…

…is that…there’s all this committing involved! 🙂
____________________________________________

Well, to those who know me personally, it may seem like I’ve taken a step back. You know, like I’ve started disappearing from some things and haven’t been as involved as I once was. Some friends, extended family, and fellow church members have started to notice this, and I have to agree that it’s true. (I may not be as present on the web either…less memes, daily stuff, and long-winded posts…maybe more quick posts, blurbs, and comments; on occasion.)

The good news is that it’s not because I’m severely depressed or anything. (I know there have been such times in which I’ve started slinking away from life because of fear, anxiety, stress, or great sadness.) However, my reasons now may still be difficult for others to understand, nonetheless. You see, lately, I’ve had to start making some tough choices, and it’s certainly not been easy nor fun…but necessary.

________________________________

I’ve never liked feeling like I’m letting others down, so I often try to take on more, whether I can handle it or not. I also, like many people, don’t like to admit when I can’t do it all! Some may look at me and think that I can do a lot more than I have been doing, and for me to cut back even more would seem ludicrous! However, this is truly one time in my life that I have to make a concerted effort to not let what others think, guide my actions. I do not state this in anger, but only in absolute truth, with love. It’s just the way it is.

I have made a commitment, and I know it’s time that I start giving it 100%! My husband and I made the decision 3 yrs. ago to home school, yet somehow along the way, I’ve lost focus. Home schooling was supposed to be a top priority, yet I’ve let so many other things sneak in and take precedent.

The simple truth is that home schooling my children, keeping a home, being a good wife, and taking care of my family takes EVERY little ounce of everything I’ve got! There’s just not a lot left over! It takes all the faith, perseverance, energy, discernment, wisdom, brain-power, brawn, will-power, motivation, love, courage, patience, resources, money and time that I have! No doubt about it…yep, EVERY BIT!! 🙂

Sooooo, that being the case, what am I to do? In order to do the very best job that I can, I HAVE to start letting some things go. I’ve at least got to back off from some other activities for a while to give this a real chance!

Some may think that the price is too high or too unfair, but that is not really for anyone else to judge. Actually, it’s also, no longer the way I see it anymore. This is a season of my life, and this is what I need to do for now to have success in homeschooling. (In fact, as the kids get older, the instruction time will actually have to increase.)

________________________________

Well, I don’t know, some may want more explanation, and some may want MUCH less! 🙂 Anyway, just know that I’m not depressed, I’m not mad, and I’m not giving up on life. No, the truth is, I’m actually just beginning to live…to live the life God has for me…one day at a time!

3 Responses

  1. Hi Janet! Yes, it’s been a while. I gave up blogging for some time, but have recently returned, although it is hard to find time as I would want. I’ve been “lurking” here for a few weeks, waiting for a moment to reconnect, and I’m so glad I came to your post today. Homeschooling is tough, hard work, huh?! I, too, have been in a season of “?” (what do you call it?! lol). It seems like I spend every day trying to keep up lately. We’re still plugging along, but not with the same enthusiasm and plans. It’s so easy to allow much to interfere with the time we need to educate our children. I’m just trying to stay as focused and energetic as possible, praying that God will work out the rest soon!

    I will pray for you. Your blog remains a source of encouragement to me….so glad to be reading it again 🙂

    Many blessings,

    julie

    Well, hey, Julie! Great to hear from you again! Glad this blog has been an encouragement to you, and glad to know you are back to blogging. Yeah, I know what you mean about not having the time as you would like. I also certainly can identify w/ all the homeschooling stuff you mentioned. God WILL provide and continue to help us through! 🙂 Blessings to you and yours!
    Leaning on Him, Janet

  2. My dearest friend Janet,
    I competely understand of where you are coming
    from. I’ve faded off to the side somewhere lol here
    lately myself. And it’s not because of anyone. It’s just
    mostly of what life deals ya & other stuff crops up,
    & that next thing you know, there a time gap! But we all
    need to rememeber that the Lord sees & knows all.
    He won’t let us wader or fade off too much, before He
    will pull us back in.
    I appreciate your blog so much. I may not reply to alot
    of the entries, but I sure enjoy them & get a lift from them.
    Love you my friend,
    Regina.

    Hi Regina!

    I’m not meaning to just totally “fade off to the side somewhere,” but I guess that’s what can happen if I’m not careful. However, I do mean to start saying “no” more, when I need to. I know I have to prioritize more, while also keeping some balance…with the Lord’s help!

    I’m glad you get something from my blog. Thanks for your sweet comments.

    Love always, Janet

  3. Good for you! It’s important to give your all to your number one calling in this season. If you haven’t read it already, I highly recommend the book Boundaries by Cloud and Townsend. It will encourage you that you’ve done the right thing to set some boundaries – guilt-free!

    Hi Catherine! Yes, that’s what I’m trying to do! Thanks for the book recommendation…I’ve been directed to it a couple of times in the past…I think I’ll check that out! 🙂 Thanks also for the encouragement! Blessings to you, Janet

Leave a Reply

