Missing Daddy

Scott had a business trip to D.C. this week; only gone for the one night (thankfully). Nonetheless, of course, the short duration didn’t keep us from missing him. Sarah’s had the most sentimental correspondence with Daddy…At times, a little dramatic, but sweet. (I know what some of you are thinking…something about a “pot calling the kettle black” or something or other…Yeah, o.k., duly noted. 🙂 )

________________________________

Sarah writes:

Dear Daddy, I hope you had a safe trip. I miss you very much.
I hope you are going to have a good time working.
Love your baby girl, Sarah.

_____________________________

(Sarah had given Daddy another stuffed animal to remember her by.)

Daddy replies:

Pink looks out my window in DC.

pink


That evening, Sarah writes:

Dear Daddy, thanks for the picture. I’m sorry that I didn’t get to say good-bye to you.
You can call her Pink. Her real name is Elizabeth.
Love you so much. 🙂 Sarah.

P.S. I miss you very, very, very, very, very, very much.
Tonight, instead of us saying the prayer at home let’s do it on the computer.

Daddy, I do not know your prayer very well, so here are the parts of it that I know.

Daddy: The Lord may bless you and keep you. The Lord may shine upon you and
be gracious unto you. Mommy loves you, Daddy loves you, Kerry loves you, and Jesus loves loves you. AMEN.

Me: Now I lay me, down to sleep. I pray dear Lord, my soul you’ll keep. May your love be
with me through the night, and bless me with the morning light. AMEN.

________________________________

Next morning, Sarah writes:

Dear Daddy, good morning! Did you get a good night sleep?
What time are you coming home? Are you having a good morning?
I love you very much, Sarah.

________________________

Daddy:

Good morning, Baby Girl!

I got a good night’s sleep. Did you?
I will be home tonight, but it may be after bedtime.

Are you and Kerry getting your work done? Did you brush your teeth and
get dressed? Be good for Mommy today.

I love you all!
Daddy

_____________________________

Sarah:

Dear Daddy, I had a good night sleep……..I guess. It was not fun without you.
I slept with the play dog that you gave to me for Valentine’s Day. I slept on the pillow you and Mommy
gave me last Valentine’s Day. I wore one of your shirts, and I slept with a picture of you and me.
I miss you very, very, very, very, very, very, very much.
Love, Sarah.

P.S. Sorry if I make you cry.

6 Responses

  1. Oh my goodness! That about made ME cry! Please tell him that your blog readers voted, and he is NEVER to leave town again, lol!! What a sweet girl 🙂

  2. Hee, Hee, Hee…you made me laugh! 🙂 Yes, around here, we feel the same way about it! However, Scott has to every once in a while for his job, and we ARE thankful that he has a job!

    I know what you mean…that girl sure gets to me some times!! 🙂 Funny thing: I saw her typing that last email, and I said that might make Daddy cry! …So Sarah put: “P.S. Sorry if I make you cry.”

    That kind of cracked me up!

  3. Yes…my husband has had to go through paycuts this year in order to keep his job. We were really concerned at first, but God has worked it out where he can work from the local office instead of commuting 2 hours each day. We saved on gas (thank the Lord), and also have been blessed because he now can come home for lunch. My youngest watches out the window,running out to his truck to meet him everyday when he arrives. It’s so cute — I love watching him bolt out the door like it’s a race to see who can get to Daddy first! It’s so nice for them to have a Dad who is actively involved in their life. Sounds like you have been blessed in that area, too 🙂

  4. Scott’s been laid off from work 3 different times since we’ve been married, and God has provided each time, when things seemed totally impossible!

    Yes, what a blessing that your husband gets to come home for lunch now…my kids would love that too! That’s so sweet about your son racing to get to Daddy. My kids stand at the front door when Scott leaves in the morning, waiting for their goodbye hugs. In the evening, they often bombard him when he gets home!

    Julie, you are so right about it being such a blessing for our kids to have a Dad who’s actively involved in their lives! 🙂

  5. That Sarah is a sweetie. If that doesn’t pull at dad’s heartstrings, I don’t know what will. Thanks for sharing those precious daddy-daughter notes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

