What I Didn’t Tell Ya…

…Well, I suppose I left out a few things earlier about today. So, here’s what I didn’t tell ya:

I didn’t tell you about:

–the beautiful, sweet prayer I had with my children today

–the Bible verses that Sarah and I read (Amos 3:3 and Psalm 30:5)

–the Bible story Sarah read to me about “Daniel in the Lion’s Den”

–the times I got to hold my children today; kiss them, hug them, tickle them, and tell them that I love them

–the times that Sarah and Kerry shared, worked together, and learned together

–the satisfaction and peace our Lord has given me while just being obedient and doing what He’s asked me to do…

___________________________

So, “there you have it,” folks. Those are just a few of the joys of today that I somehow neglected to mention in the last post. You might vaguely recognize this list… I’ll bet we each have one of our own–that list of blessings, joys, and special moments that can be found in any seemingly ordinary day. Let us not forget to thank and praise Him for each and every day. Let us thank Him for the sunrise and the sunset, the joy and the pain, the blessings and the trials…. Amen?!

Psalm 46/”In the Garden”

Well, I guess it’s just one of those days. I’ve had worse; I’ve had better. Sarah’s had 3 outbursts today. It seems she’s exhausted and not feeling very confident in her abilities today. I know how she feels. Every once in a while–o.k., probably more often than that–I think to myself “I can hardly believe that He would have chosen me of all people to do this task! The house is a mess, my brain is “foggy,” the lesson plans aren’t exactly going “according to plan”… Sarah’s crying; saying she “can’t do it,” when I know very well that she can. Kerry’s crying with a “belly-ache,” and I don’t seem to have a “quick fix” for him either.

Beyond all these little daily struggles is a larger cloud hanging over our heads. Things are quite uncertain for us right now, and Scott is under a lot of stress. Well, of course, I’m under my own stresses. The “bigger” problem at hand actually doesn’t affect me as much as these other little ones that accumulate. Well, anyway, the situation can look almost impossible at times…

YET, when I am quiet in His presence, there’s that familiar gentle message that I need so much… He “tells” me to look to Him, not the storm. He tells me not to fear; that He is with me. He will provide, and everything will be alright. All I have to do is trust Him and keep pressing on… He will make a way…

In today’s Our Daily Bread, we’re told to read Psalm 46. Verses 1-3 say:

God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. Therefore will not we fear, though the earth be removed, and though the mountains be carried into the midst of the sea; Though the waters thereof roar and be troubled, though the mountains shake with the swelling thereof.

The title of today’s devotional is “Getting Through,” and the key verse is Psalm 85:8, which says: “I will hear what God the Lord will speak, for He will speak peace to His people and to His saints.” The writer also quotes part of his grandmother’s favorite hymn, which is also one of my favorites, and it is called “In the Garden.”

And He walks with me, and He talks with me;

And He tells me I am His own;

And the joy we share as we tarry there,

None other has ever known. –Miles

____________________________________________

Click on one or all of the following links to view more details:

–all of Psalm 46 (verses 1-11)

–all of today’s “ODB” devotional

–the lyrics to “In the Garden”