“Taking No Detours…”

sample001.jpg

There’ll be no detours in Heaven

No rough roads along the way

I’m using my Bible for a road map

My last stop is Heaven some sweet day.

______________________________________________________

I have no real natural sense of direction. However, my “sense” of adventure and my need to get out and explore often overpower any “good sense” I may have! My lack of patience also interferes even when I’m on the right path… My natural tendency when I’m going straight, and I’ve been on the same road for a while, is to make a detour. So-o-o-o many times, I have turned off the correct road onto some side street, just before reaching my destination!!

And you know what my other natural tendency is? Whenever I make a turn, for some “reason,” I love to turn right. It’s like there’s a constant “right turn only” sign in my head! Of course it doesn’t take a genius to figure out what happens if a person keeps making right turns. That’s correct–you got it–that person just makes a big old circle. And if that person just keeps making right turns out of thoughtless stubbornness and silly willfulness, guess what happens? Correct again–one just keeps going in circles!!

___________________________

I think we all can lose our sense of direction and way from time to time on this “spiritual journey,” don’t you think? Who hasn’t taken a detour once in a while? Oh, come on…don’t any of these roads look somewhat familiar to ya?

–“Temptation Trail” –“Contention Court” –“Busy Bee Boulevard”

–“Lazy Lane” –“Rant & Rave Road” –“Agony Avenue”

–“Strife Street” –“Pity Park” –“Lust Lane”

–“Bitter Boulevard” –“Hypocrite Highway” –“Doubting Drive”

__________________________________________________________________________________

But, don’t get lost in the detours… Don’t get down about the wrong turns–just don’t keep making the same wrong turns! Get back on the correct path–and stick with it–stay on it! Don’t despair, don’t get distracted…don’t take any unnecessary detours… Stay on the path until you reach your destination!

Don’t you know it sure will be good to finally be home!!

____________________________

“…Strait is the gate, and narrow is the way, which leadeth unto life, and few there be that find it.”–Matthew 7:14

3 Responses

  1. 🙂 I have been around the same mountain many times myself, I have decided to finallly go through it!!
    God Bless
    kelly
    http://www.savedsoul.wordpress.com

  2. These are great thoughts! I’ve really enjoyed finding and reading your blog! (((((HUGS))))) sandi

  3. […] *Adapted from my original post at Daily Provision. […]

Leave a comment