Thankful Thurs. on Friday

I’m a little late with this, but I just don’t feel right without doing my thankful post! You see, there’s too many things to be thankful for, and it makes me feel good when I take out a little time to express my gratitude! This is a great opportunity because I truly receive a blessing from looking back at God’s gifts throughout the week!

Philippians 4:4-9 says:

4 Rejoice in the Lord alway: and again I say, Rejoice. 5 Let your moderation be known unto all men. The Lord is at hand. 6 Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. 7 And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus. 8 Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things. 9 Those things, which ye have both learned, and received, and heard, and seen in me, do: and the God of peace shall be with you.

_________________________________________

This Sunday is Youth Sunday at our church. All this week, at home, my kids have been practicing several songs from VBS (to sing with the youth this Sunday). The chorus of one of these songs is perfect for a thankful post . It says:

I wanna be thankful.

I wanna be grateful.

I wanna remember everything that the Lord has done.

I wanna be thankful.

I wanna be grateful.

I wanna be… I wanna be… I wanna be.

___________________________________________

I’m thankful for:

–our church, our youth, the youth program, Youth Sunday, and Youth leaders.

–seeing, hearing, and enjoying my sweet children practicing these songs all week. It’s truly been a blessing, and I think these songs have actually helped us through this week!

__________________________________________

I’m also grateful for:

–My brother and his family and the great birthday party and visit we had this past Sat.

–the Sunday School class of teenagers I have just started teaching. It’s already been a privilege to teach them, and they have been a blessing to me.

–Gracie and her little birthday party

–Activities and fun with friends

–Wisdom and guidance from the Holy Spirit and good listening and counsel from friends

–Scott’s determination and dedication to little Kerry, and the progress Kerry has made this week with reading

–Jeanette’s lesson and message at church this past Wed. night. I’m glad I went because I was blessed by her words and her heart.

_________________________________________

Finally, I just can’t help but to say how touched and blessed I have been by my daughter Sarah’s recent post about her brother. (You may view it by clicking here).

**For more Thankful Thursday posts and participants, please visit Iris @ Sting My Heart.

4 Responses

  1. Really nice thankful list sweetie.

    Denise, thanks so much for your weekly encouragement! Blessings to you!

  2. That is a lovely list of things to be thanful for. I have to mention that my favorite one is your daughters post about her brother. That is SO sweet and precious! 🙂
    Have a blessed day!

    Hi Kathy! Yeah, I just had to share that post of Sarah’s…it truly was such a blessing to me. I’m glad that you enjoyed it too, and thanks so much for stopping by! I’ve just had a very enjoyable visit over at your blog too! (I left you a comment over there.) Blessings, Janet

  3. […] Angela83. Noreen84. Cathy (Christianese)85. Kari @ Just Another Day in Paradise86. hailey87. Janet @ Daily Provision88. mama meji89. Willnette90. Kathy […]

  4. I read Sarah’s post. Very sweet. I would be thanking God too.

    Blessings to you, Carol!

Leave a comment