It’s Really Thursday This Time!

Yay, it’s Thursday…and not just Thursday, but “Thankful Thursday!” Yep, I’m doing my TT post, and this time it’s being posted on Thursday! (Lately, the TT post is all the blogging I’ve had time for! I can’t believe the summer’s been busier than the school year in a way! …But praise the Lord that the kids and I have had so many opportunities for fellowship and fun! -) )

_____________________________________

To God Be The Glory

Words by: Fanny Crosby, 1875

To God be the glory, great things He has done;
So loved He the world that He gave us His Son,
Who yielded His life an atonement for sin,
And opened the life gate that all may go in.

Refrain

Praise the Lord, praise the Lord,
Let the earth hear His voice!
Praise the Lord, praise the Lord,
Let the people rejoice!
O come to the Father, through Jesus the Son,
And give Him the glory, great things He has done.

O perfect redemption, the purchase of blood,
To every believer the promise of God;
The vilest offender who truly believes,
That moment from Jesus a pardon receives.

Refrain

Great things He has taught us, great things He has done,
And great our rejoicing through Jesus the Son;
But purer, and higher, and greater will be
Our wonder, our transport, when Jesus we see.

Refrain

____________________________________

“O Lord, our Lord, how excellent is Your name in all the earth! who hast set thy glory above the heavens.” –Psalm 8:1

___________________________________

Here are just a few things I thank God for this week:

I Thank Him:

–For the Fri. night “lock-in” for the youth at our church. The kids had a lot of fun (and perhaps they also learned that a regular bed-time isn’t such a bad idea! ;-) )

–For snuggling time with my kids…and for the kids with whom I get to snuggle! -)

–For Sarah’s soccer team…she enjoys soccer so much, and she needs to get all that energy out somehow! (I take her to the practices, while Kerry stays home and spends some special time with Daddy. At Sarah’s last soccer practice, I walked around the outside track. It was a great stress-reliever and peaceful time for me…I communed with God as I walked).

–For the youth outing that the kids had on Wed. night. They rode on the bus with the church youth group and went to sing to one of the local nursing homes. Not only did they have fun just getting together, riding on the bus, etc., but they also brought some smiles to some lonely people.

–That I was able to mow my own yard this week. It felt great! O.k., well, that is…in some ways…physically, not so much! ;-) The body has a way of getting lazy and out-of-shape pretty quickly! -)

–For an encouraging Christian lady that He sent my way this past week. I was at Burger King with the kids; reading my daily devotional and scripture. I had already been uplifted by my scripture reading, and then afterward I ended up talking to this precious Christian lady. I know the Lord brought us together to encourage one another in the faith.

–For the sermon that our pastor brought Wed. night (concerning faith and perseverance from Hebrews 11…always a good topic for the Christian sojourner, I think!)

–For the message in this Wednesday’s “Our Daily Bread.” Just the day before, in a moment of weakness, I had the thought, “Is God really on my side?” I know I was starting to feel sorry for myself, but I also realized that I couldn’t let myself go down that path, and I couldn’t continue with wrong thinking like that! Well, the very next morning, I opened up my little devotional, and I found the following title: “Whose Side Is God On?

2 Chron. 15:2 says, “The Lord is with you while you are with Him. If you seek Him, He will be found by you; but if you forsake Him, He will forsake you.”

I love the very first quote sited:

“I do not boast that God is on my side,” wrote Abraham Lincoln. “I humbly pray that I am on God’s side.”

*To read the entire devotional, you may click here.

____________________________________

Well, if I had more time, I could easily go on and on with my thankful list, but while I’m typing, I’d be missing out on some more blessings! You see, about now is when I get to snuggle with the kiddos, and I don’t want to miss that! So, I’d better go for now, and meet you all back here next week!

For any of you reading “Thankful Thursday” for the first time…what are you thankful for? Just look around a little, and you may be surprised. I’m sure you’ll discover more blessings than you could have ever imagined!

____________________________________

**For more Thankful Thursday posts and participants, please visit Iris @ Sting My Heart.

4 Responses

  1. I love that song, always have. Praying sweet blessings for you dear one.

    Me too, Denise…I do love that song. Blessings to you, as always!

  2. I always enjoy reading your thankful posts! Such cheerfulness and gratitude! Remain blessed!

    Blessings to you, too!

  3. So glad you are able to post your Thankful post to share with us. It is a joy to read of your thankful heart! Thank God for blessing you in many ways. Snuggling time with your kids are so precious 🙂 Thank God for blessing your fellowship with the precious Christian lady. God is good. Take care and may God bless you and family always!

    Blessings to you, Nancie!

  4. […] Standing in My Field105. Michele106. Leanne from Canada107. bvoylesal@aol.com108. Mari Taylor109. Janet @ Daily Provision110. Miss Vanessa111. Tammy@breaths of faith112. Mozi Esme’s Mommy113. Jennifer’s […]

Leave a comment