Why Ask Why?

No, really, why ask the question “why?” When it comes to God’s mysterious ways, in my opinion, the question “why” is better left unasked, or at least not dwelt upon. It’s such a little word with so many implications… Truly, what good can come from dwelling on this question? In my experience, all I can say is that repeatedly asking “why” and feebly attempting to find answers only gives me more headaches and gray hair…

If we find ourselves having to ask the question “why,” let it be “why did God send His son to die for us?” The Bible gives us a clear answer for that one. …And what a sweet, comforting one.

_____________________________________________________________________

…God commendeth His love toward us, in that, while we were sinners, Christ died for us.” –Romans 5:8

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.” –John 3:16

_____________________________________________________________________

Of course, if you know me, you know that I usually have a song for any such topic. The following praise and worship song answers the “why” that matters most:

_____________________________________________________________________

Oh, How He Loves You and Me

Words and Music by Kurt Kaiser

Oh, how He loves you and me,
Oh, how He loves you and me.
He gave His life, what more could He give;
Oh, how He loves you, Oh, how He loves me,
Oh, how He loves you and me.

Jesus to Calv’ry did go,
His love for mankind to show.
What He did there brought hope from despair.
Oh, how He loves you, Oh, how He loves me,
Oh how He loves you and me.

Oh, how He loves you and me,
Oh, how He loves you and me.
He gave His life, what more could He give;
Oh, how He loves you, Oh, how He loves me,
Oh, how He loves you and me.

_____________________________________________________________________

For all other “why” questions, I like:

_____________________________________________________________________

Farther Along

(Baxter & Stevens)

Tempted and tried we’re oft’ made to wonder
Why it should be thus all the day long;
While there are others living about us,
Never molested, though in the wrong.

Farther along we’ll know more about it.
Farther along we’ll understand why;
Cheer up my brother live in the sunshine
We’ll understand it all by and by.

When death has come and taken our loved ones
Leaving our homes so lonely and drear;
Then do we wonder how others prosper
Living so wicked year after year.

Farther along we’ll know more about it.
Farther along we’ll understand why;
Cheer up my brother live in the sunshine
We’ll understand it all by and by.

Often I wonder why I must journey
Over a road so rugged and steep;
While there are others living in comfort,
While with the lost I labor and weep.

Farther along we’ll know more about it.
Farther along we’ll understand why;
Cheer up my brother live in the sunshine
We’ll understand it all by and by

Faithful ’til death, said our loving Master,
A few more days labor and wait;
Toils of the road will then be as nothing,
As we sweep through the beautiful gates.

Farther along we’ll know more about it.
Farther along we’ll understand why;
Cheer up my brother live in the sunshine
We’ll understand it all by and by.

When we see Jesus coming in glory;
When He comes from His home in the sky;
Then we shall meet Him in that bright mansion.
We’ll understand it all by and by.

Farther along we’ll know more about it.
Farther along we’ll understand why;
Cheer up my brother live in the sunshine
We’ll understand it all by and by.

_____________________________________________________________________Note: **Note: To listen to Farther Along, you may click here. You may also view a short testimony of Joni Eareckson Tada along with a congregational singing of the song, when you visit here.


Calling Homeschooling Moms…

…Help! O.k., so, this is just my second year at this, and I think perhaps I could still use some guidance, advice, etc. from some veterans! At the beginning of this school year, I was somewhat concerned about my 4 yr. old son. All last year, it was “like pulling teeth” to get him to do anything. Kerry hadn’t been showing any interest in learning whatsoever. However, just in the past week or two (since he’s turned 4), he has suddenly become very interested in learning! I have just been extremely pleased with Kerry’s change in attitude, and I have been giving him a lot of encouragement.

However, now that little Kerry’s showing more interest, Sarah (my 6 yr. old) is showing less! She seems to be getting jealous of Kerry–jealous of the praise I’m giving him, etc. Even though I continue to praise Sarah too, it doesn’t seem to make a difference! Also, Sarah seems to be having more trouble getting her work done, because she’s too “busy” trying to see what Kerry’s doing! Often she wants to “take over,” and help her brother. I don’t mind Sarah helping teach her brother some, and I frequently let her do so, but Kerry doesn’t always like it!

At one time, it was working better for me to alternate working with each child. For example, while I would be helping Sarah, little Kerry would be on the computer, watching T.V., etc. However, now each child seems to want my undivided attention at the same time, and that is obviously impossible to do! So, I am working at doing more activities that include both children, but of course, the gist of their work has to be on different levels.

We’re also just having some problems in general with scheduling, organization, etc. We have “a ton” of various workbooks and resources this year, many of which have been given to us, and I’m very thankful. At the same time, I feel as if I could be covered over by an avalanche of books at any moment, never to be seen again!! I’m also having a hard time keeping any kind of consistent schedule.

I want the kids to still be involved in activities, but I haven’t seemed to be able to find the right balance yet. When I do more at church, and I sign up for our homeschool group functions and local sports, I end up exhausted and frustrated. We also have more trouble staying on track with our schoolwork. However, when we stay at home more, we all start feeling isolated, lonely, bored, etc.

O.k., so I admit it. I need some help and encouragement!! I’m not ready to give up, but I am struggling! Am I making this too hard?!

Anyway, I know I’ve done a lot of rambling, so here’s some specific questions for you:

(1) When teaching children on different grade/skill levels, what strategies do you use?

(2) Do you have a general time-frame to complete tasks each day, a specific schedule, or no schedule at all?

(3) In what part of the house do you have school? How do you organize all your school materials and where do you store them?

(4) Are you involved with a local homeschool group? Do your children have outside activities, and if so, what kinds, and how often?

(5) Have you ever felt totally frustrated, overwhelmed, smothered, and/or unmotivated? If so, how have you been able to cope with these feelings?

_____________________________________________________________________

If you’re a homeschooling mom who’s found something that works well, please leave me a comment on any or all of the above questions. Also, if you would just like to tell me that “it does get better,” I would appreciate that too! (Somewhere down-deep I know it will, but I still wouldn’t mind some affirmation.) Your prayers would also be appreciated…