Trading My Sorrows

I guess if you’ve read even a few of my latest posts, you already know that music has played an important role in my life. I started singing solos in church at the age of 8, and I’ve sung duets with my dad (off and on) ever since. As a teenager, I also sang with an amateur group for a while, and there were a few other singing opportunities thereafter, but I won’t bore you with any more details…

However, I’ve come to realize that lately, not only do I not sing in public much anymore, but I don’t even sing much around the house like I used to. (I do plan to get back to this part of my life and to involve my kids). Even though I don’t always sing out-loud anymore, I often have a song in my heart. The words and music to all types of songs come to my mind and heart throughout the day and bring me such comfort and peace. It’s funny to me how the words to so many songs mean so much more to me as I get older…

My kids sang “Trading My Sorrows” with their youth group at church this past Sunday. I absolutely love this song! It too reminds me of my aunt Teresa–(many things do lately). Have I mentioned that Teresa started singing in a Gospel group at the age of 13?! She had such a powerful, beautiful, clear voice! My aunt loved to sing songs of praise to the Lord! When I hear the words of the song below, I think of how she must be singing, shouting, praising, and celebrating! I know she has certainly traded her sorrows, sickness, and pain! I know too that her family is “pressed but not crushed;…not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed!” What a testimony–what a witness–what a faith–what a hope!!

_____________________________________________________________________

Trading My Sorrows

By: Darrell Evans

I’m trading my sorrows
I’m trading my shame
I’m laying them down for the joy of the Lord

I’m trading my sickness
I’m trading my pain
I’m laying them down for the joy of the Lord

We say yes Lord, yes Lord, yes, yes Lord
yes Lord, yes Lord, yes, yes Lord
yes Lord, yes Lord, yes, yes Lord, amen

I am pressed but not crushed
persecuted, but not abandoned
struck down, but not destroyed
I am blessed beyond the curse,
for His promise will endure
and His joy will be my strength

though the sorrow may last for the night
His joy comes with the morning.

I’m trading my sorrows
I’m trading my shame
I’m laying them down for the joy of the Lord

I’m trading my sickness
I’m trading my pain
I’m laying them down for the joy of the Lord

We say yes Lord, yes Lord, yes, yes Lord
yes Lord, yes Lord, yes, yes Lord
yes Lord, yes Lord, yes, yes Lord, amen (2x)

I am pressed but not crushed
persecuted, but not abandoned
struck down, but not destroyed
I am blessed beyond the curse,
for His promise will endure
and His joy is going to be my strength

Though the sorrow may last for the night
His joy comes with the morning.

I’m trading my sorrows
I’m trading my shame
I’m laying them down for the joy of the Lord

I’m trading my sickness
I’m trading my pain
I’m laying them down for the joy of the Lord (2x)

_____________________________________________________________________

Speak to one another with psalms, hymns and spiritual songs. Sing and make music in your heart to the Lord.Ephesians 5:19

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sing to Him, sing psalms to Him; Talk of all His wondrous works!
1 Chronicles 16:9

_____________________________________________________________________

**Note: You can listen to this song here.

6 Responses

  1. Hi Janet,

    I too, love to sing, have sung a lot in church and continue to do so. Last week, it suddenly dawned on me that I wasn’t singing around the house as much as I used to. I started singing a bunch of old hymns that I haven’t sung in a long time, and it felt so good. I miss the old hymns. We don’t sing many of them in our church right now, mostly because my daughter who is our only piano player doesn’t know how to play them. Anyhow keep singing.

    Carol

  2. Every now and then I do sing at home. I really do like some of the newer stuff. unfortunately our church doesn’t do any of the new stuff. But do I like the hymns .

  3. I definitely love a variety of music. I love the old hymns, Southern Gospel, Bluegrass/Gospel, Contemporary Christian, etc. I love the old stuff, and I love some of the new stuff.

    However, I could never see the new music as a replacement for my cherished old hymns! The hymns hold a special place in my heart for which there is no substitute!

    Really, I do enjoy having a variety, though. If the music uplifts His name and touches hearts, why can’t we have it all?!

  4. Hey Carol,

    That is so neat to me that you just recently realized the same thing–“about not singing around the house like you used to.” I know what you mean about it feeling so good to sing the old hymns. I love to re-visit songs I haven’t sung in years, and see how the words make sense to me now and “jump out” at me in a way that they didn’t before! It’s like when I read a passage of scripture that I’ve read so many times before, and the words now take on a whole new meaning!

    Thanks for your comment. …And hey, you keep singing too!
    Love,
    In Him,
    Janet

  5. You like bluegrass? Me too!! My kids think I am so old! lol

    Thanks for the “pick-me-up”…I’ll be Trading My Sorrows all day!

    Julie

  6. Julie,

    Yes, in fact, there’s hardly a type of music I don’t like or at least appreciate. Unless of course, it’s dishonoring to Him, promoting evil things, etc.

    Yeah, I know what you mean–there’s some kids and maybe even some adults who think I act old! But that’s o.k.!

    Yeah, like I said I like the new and the old. I think Trading My Sorrows is a great “pick-me-up” too!

    Janet

Leave a comment